WFMW- Fighting Crazy Winter Hair

        This tip was posted orginally back in January of 2008, but we are in full crazy winter hair mode.   You know what I am talking about.  You and your family are all bundled up, run into the store, pull off the hat (or hood) and BOOM, crazy hair.  It sticks to their faces.  It stands out all over the place. 

     You try to smooth it down, but it pops back out defiantly.  How in the world can hair stand out, stick to you and go up your nose at the same time?  Please tell me I am not the only one who experiences this!

     In addition to crazy hair, I have 6 girls, and a couple of them are extremely tenderheaded.  Detanglers are great but can be expensive to keep buying, and they always run out when you need them most. 

     So, what do I do?  I make my own!  All you need is a small squirt bottle, water and hair conditioner.  Put about 1 tablespoon of conditioner in the bottle, add water and gently shake until it is fully mixed together.  This can be used on wet hair as a detangler or on dry hair to detangle and control frizz.  A spritz or two calms the crazy winter hair static problems as well.

     I just pop my little spray bottle in my purse when we are heading out.  When we get to our destination a quick, light spray and we shed that whole I-just-rubbed-party-balloons-all-over-my-head look.  Woo Hoo! 

     Do you have a great tip to share?  Need a few tips?  Head over to We Are That Family, and see what other people are saying.

Shalom,

~Rhen

Leave a comment with a link to your blog so I can come and visit!

This post was originally posted Jan. 23, 2008, but I wanted to share it again with a little updating.

4 responses to “WFMW- Fighting Crazy Winter Hair

  1. That was a great tip! Thanks!

  2. Hi and thanks for visiting my blog. I figured out how to find yours and am thrilled that I did. I dislike crazy hat hair and we always have it. I loved using detangler but it is expensive so I stopped using it. Thanks for the tip on how to make my own we will definitely be making it soon.

  3. Hmmm, might have to try this trick…had crazy winter hair going on all day today!

  4. Oh THANK you for sharing this. My girls & I have fine hair – which seems to LOVE crazy winter static – what a BRILLIANT and MOM-FRIENDLY idea. Thanks so much – I’ve got a small spray bottle that will be perfect for my purse!

    Thanks for commenting on my WFMW index cards… It really is a sickness – and I keep buying them up and using them all. =)

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!