Crock Pot Oatmeal Deliciousness

Recently, Brandy (The Marathon Mom) shared a pin on making oatmeal in the crock pot.
If you are anything like me, you just had two thoughts:
1.) I would expect burnt, hard oatmeal
2.) or I would expect a gelatinous glob

Neither sounds appetizing, does it?
Reading the comments under the pin didn’t do much to change my mind, but I decided to go for it anyway. If it works, it would make Sunday morning breakfast a no-brainer and so much faster. After all, getting a family of ten out the door in a reasonable amount of time is already enough of a rodeo show. Streamlining breakfast would be awesomesauce. *grin*

The original pin calls for:

  • 2 peeled and cut up apples
  • 2/3 cup of brown sugar
  • 1tsp cinnamon
  • 2 cups of old fashioned oatmeal (not instant)
  • 4 cups of water

Layer these in this order in your crock pot and DO NOT stir. Cook on a very low setting for 10 hours. Stir and serve in the morning.

This is the crock pot full and ready to go Saturday night. I DID NOT stir the ingredients.

I doubled the recipe, used raw Demerara sugar, and organic Pink Lady apples.
It was de-li-cious! Huge hit!

Ready to go the next morning!

Now, I triple the recipe. Doubling it only gave each person one serving. Most of my kids like to have seconds, even if it is just a little bit.

Nice and creamy!

Since then, I have used peaches and blackberries (separately) we harvested and froze last summer. The kids gave both of those breakfasts two thumbs up. Next, I will be trying it with strawberries. Mmmm!

Two thumbs up?

What is your I-gotta-get-out-the-door-fast go-to breakfast?

God bless,

~Rhen

Find me on Facebook!

Find me on Pinterest!

8 responses to “Crock Pot Oatmeal Deliciousness

  1. Incredible! My thought would have been dry burnt breakfast. I’m very interested in trying this!

  2. I am making this tonight to have for breakfast tomorrow… thanks for the recipe! 🙂

  3. A couple of questions – should you soak the oats before cooking and can you use honey or pure maple syrup in place of the sugar?

    • Do not soak the oats! Just put everything in the crock pot, do not stir, and let it cook. I do not see any problems with using honey or maple syrup. The original recipe calls for the “regular” sugar. We do not eat refined sugars, so I replaced it with a healthier one, and the oatmeal was delicious!

  4. This is going in my crockpot right now! ONLY five kids 😉 at my house, but this will be amazing if they’ll eat it.

  5. I want to try this, but one question first…can you use old fashioned quick oats?

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

