Down For The Count!

What can take down almost every member of a family of ten?

My best answer:  ick.

Whatever this is, it leveled me this past weekend, and all but one of the children have been affected to some degree.  Poor Hannah (10) has fared the worst.

Plenty of fluids, homemade broth, lots of citrus fruits high in vitamin C, rest, Tylenol, and decongestants to dry up everything that is filling our heads and draining down the back of our throats.  We are not talking stuffy noses or runny noses.  Every bit of it is in the back of our sinus cavities and down the throat.

Oh my, the horrible, can’t breathe without it making it go off, taking over your body, gotta dash to get a glass of water cough.  Productive?  Yes.  Fun?  No!

After a few days with not one shred of improvement, I loaded up the bus and headed into the doctor.

It has been years and years since our last doctor visit for a sick kid.  When the measures that normally get everyone back on their feet do not work, it is time to find out what is different.

After a very hard five and a half hours, we have some awesome praise reports.  No one has any congestion settling in their chests.  Yay, clear lungs!  (The cupped hand patting a person on the back when they are coughing really does work!)  All of the tests:  flu, walking pneumonia, strep, and upper respiratory, came back negative!

Half of the children are reacting to something in the air and producing a tremendous amount of ick.  An antihistamine has helped with that.  The rest of us have a high white blood cell count that shows we are fighting something, but the doctors just don’t know what it is.   For those who are fighting well, fluids, Tylenol or Ibuprofen as needed, and plenty of rest.  For those who are not able to wage the battle, a round of antibiotics has been prescribed.

We try to avoid medications, and especially antibiotics, as much as possible, but when they are needed, they are needed!

On a mom note, ladies you know that first shower after you have had a baby.  It feels great to get clean, but the whole thing leaves you exhausted and short of breath?  Yeah, that is how I am feeling most of the time right now.  The doctor diagnosed me with the same symptoms as the kids and exhaustion.  His remedy?  Take a few days off to recover and rest.  Is anyone else out there laughing hysterically with me?  Taking time off?  Moms are 24/7!

One thing that is bothering me a bit is some weight loss.  I know I have not been feeling great, but I have been eating and trying to keep up my calorie intake.  It does take energy to heal!  I have lost almost 10 pounds in just a few days, and I am down to 120 lbs.  There have been a handful of times that I have lost a couple of pounds when not feeling well, but not like this.

Any thoughts?

A couple of blogging things:  we will not be having the View From My Porch Linky on Tuesday the 25th, but it will resume the following Tuesday!  Thank you to all of you who have joined in and made it so much fun.

I know my posting could definitely be labeled as sporadic lately, but as soon as whatever this is that I am dealing with improves enough, I have a lot to share with you.  So much has been going on around here and I am anxious to get the pictures and posts up!

How are things in your neck of the woods?

God Bless,

~Rhen

4 responses to “Down For The Count!

  1. you are in my thoughts and prayers. I know taking ‘down time’ is difficult for moms, but I found out the hard way that it is best arranged than forced. I ended up in the hospital for 4 days with pneumonia. My poor husband only had six children to deal with, but he was absolutely miserable the whole time. i pray that things go better for you soon.

  2. I pray you are all feeling better soon! I remember several years ago when our whole family of six was sick with the flu over Christmas. No fun.

  3. I don’t know if you eat meat, but I find that sometimes a good medium rare hamburger gives me strength when I’m sick. I would also say a raw egg in a glass of milk with a little real vanilla but I don’t know if you should have the dairy with all that congestion.

    You probably aren’t eating that much due to all the congestion. My daughter just got through something that sounds like yours….it’s taken her fiance 3 weeks and she’s on her 2nd week. She also lost about 10 pounds. She’s down just above 100 now, and does not need to be losing weight. She says she’s eating, too, but I know that she has not been eating as much because she’s so full of mucous. Her fiance also lost weight, and he’s already a skinny guy!!

    You do sound like you’re on the mend, hearing from you now!! Keep taking vitamins. I like the Megafood vitamin (only from plants), and my younger children (still living at home) take the “Sea Buddies Immune Defense” vitamins (vit. A,C, B6, Zinc, and European Elderberry) off and on around this time of year.

  4. I’m so sorry that you are not feeling well! I’ll be praying for you and your children and husband to! Yes, I did laugh hysterically! Somedays God is the only one who gets me out of bed to care for my family! Sometimes just sitting on the couch telling each other stories about things we know or Bible stories is all we would do for most of the day! I only have four children though.
    I pray that the Lord will strengthen you to be able to manage!

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

