View From My Porch (Link Up)

Good morning, and welcome to our very first View From My Porch weekly link up!

It was an agonizing decision as to what I would share with you all on this first post.  Okay, maybe it wasn’t really agonizing, but it was hard!  *grin*

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I have a soft spot for old things that are tossed aside when they still have so much left to offer.

One of the items we inherited with this house is an old bench  that sits just outside our front door.  Though the back left leg is about two inches shorter than the other three, and it had that grayish color of neglect, something about it told a story.

It was just days after I gave it a fresh coat of bright yellow paint and propped up the back leg with a small piece of wood that I learned more of its history.

The original owner was a wonderfully sweet, elderly woman who was called home before we made our move into this house.  For many, many years it sat on her front porch and saw the hustle and bustle of her family.

When I look at the bench I can imagine conversations and laughter over a cup of coffee, a father sitting there putting on his work boots, and the perfect spot for a moment of rest as a mom keeps up with an energetic toddler.

I wonder how many little boys have rolled and crashed their toy trucks over the edge just as Israel (21 months) does.

I wonder how many little girls have played tea party on it as our little girls have.

I enjoy thinking about all of the family and celebrations and life moments this old bench has witnessed over the years.

It has a lot of life left in it yet, and I am looking forward to adding our family’s history to what makes this old bench a little something special.

You’re turn!  What is your view from your porch see?

God bless,

~Rhen

There are only a few guidelines for our Link Up:

  • Your post must have a link back to THIS post.
  • Please take a few moments and visit others who have linked up.
  • Please make sure your post is family friendly!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

7 responses to “View From My Porch (Link Up)

  1. Really like your post, love the bench and I think your new home is just wonderful….I sneaked and found it on the internet and took the tour.

  2. The view from my porch is actually the view from my deck, which faces a creek and the woods. One might think this is in the country, but it is right here in Hoover, AL. When I look at the view from my deck, I see the gaping hole left when the April, 2011 storms took the huge, lovely old oak tree that used to shade the house. It fell on the deck and the roof resulting in $12,000 in repairs thankfully paid for by insurance. We lost two other large oaks as well. I could feel sorry for myself for the loss of shade. Instead, the hole reminds me of others who lost everything that day, and I am grateful for the new sunshine on my face on a bright winter day.

  3. Pingback: I Spy….. « tattooedweddingrings&whiskeyprayers

  4. Such a wonderful view from your porch! I love the old bench and the history behind it! One thing I love is furniture that can tell stories of those that have lived on or around it! I have an old bench similar to yours that is in need of repair. My girls toppled it and it came apart. It’s in the shop waiting a refinishing. I think I’d like to paint it up a bright blue.
    Enjoy your new home!

    • Thank you for visiting! I would love to see your bench when it is repaired and painted. I like to see pops of color on outdoor furniture and “bones” in the garden. 🙂

      • I shall keep your post in my bookmarks and I’ll send you a pic when I get it done. Thank you! I have an old picnic table that I’d love to repaint, but I’m afraid that it would take too much paint (it’d all soak in and disappear!) LOL So for now I just top it with colourful flowers.

  5. Pingback: Down For The Count! | Yes, They Are All Mine

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

