A table fit for a large family!

For our family, a table is more than just a piece of furniture in the dining room.

~It is where we gather at meals to eat, laugh, and share the events of the day.

~It is where the kids express their creativity with projects and crafts.

~It is the hub of our homeschooling adventures.

~It is the place where many quiet conversations over coffee have taken place.

~It is where we play games and enjoy visiting with friends and family.

While surfing on Pinterest, I spotted the dining table I have always wanted.  I immediately pinned it to my Honey-Do List board and shared it with Hubs.

We sold our old table and chair set and have been making do with a table that only seats about two-thirds of our family while Mark and I have been working on our new table AND matching benches.

The man is AMAZING!  He takes whatever idea I have and makes it so much more than I could have imagined.  That, my friends, is a God-given gift.

Thanks to Pinterest (again) I created my own stain to give the table and benches an “old wood” look.    I soaked a piece of steel wool in a jar of vinegar for 24 hours.  Then, I added a scoop of coffee grounds and allowed the jars to set overnight.   I noticed that some pins used white vinegar, while others used apple cider vinegar.  I made a jar of both and tested them on a discarded piece of the wood Mark was using to see if there would be a difference.  There wasn’t.

First, Mark made the benches, and I stained them with 2 coats of stain each.  Each coat was allowed to dry thoroughly before the next was applied.

I used a small bristled brush to liberally apply the stain to the table and benches.

A little note about staining your wood furniture this way:  it takes a few minutes for the stain to start showing the staining process.  The wood continues to darken for a while after you have applied the stain.  Allow it to dry thoroughly before adding any more coats so you can see what color the wood develops.

Mark and I applied 4 coats of polyurethane to each bench and the table (with a very light sanding between each coat).

Here is our new farmhouse-inspired family table:

I love the warm old-wood look and feel we achieved.

One of my favorite features is that the benches slide underneath the table when not in use and give so much more space to walk around in the dining room.

In a pinch, I can fit all of the kids on ONE BENCH!  How is that for packing ’em in?!

If you have any questions about the process of building and finishing this table, ask away!  I will try to be as helpful as I can.

God bless,

~Rhen

Linked up to:

 

 

15 responses to “A table fit for a large family!

  1. This is beautiful!!!! I want one! 🙂

  2. How about measurements?? And last.. maybe silly… but how does it fare with getting it into the house and into your dining room with manuevering corners? It should not be TOO hard because our dining room is close, but still…

    • The table is 8 foot long and 39 inches wide. The benches are 7 foot long and fit underneath the table perfectly. We fit it through our standard front door just fine, and easily fit through our standard doorway to the dining room with the table on it’s side.

  3. I love the table & benches. The thing I have noticed with our 8 kids is that the chairs that come with a standard table set NEVER hold up to kids!! I have always wanted benches for just that reason. Now to get my hubby busy!

  4. hi, i just found you..i decided to look because i say yes they are all mine several times a week..(7kids age 17 to 3)..i feel like God sent me to you..i have been in need of a dining room table..and i have been trying to find a pic for my hubby(a carpenter/cabinet maker)this is exactly what i wanted!!do you all fit at yours???thanks again

  5. I love your table! (We have a 12.5′ long conference table that my husband got from work for $20)
    I was wondering how its holding up? I worry about scrubbing the varnish off…I’ve gone through several tables.

  6. This is great. I’m glad the fam can dine together. I’m curious as to whether you uses oil based or water based polyurethane. Since this stain is mostly a chemical reaction that the wood is having, instead of a stain, I wondered if it matters.

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

