The Lost Art of Letter Writing

The use of electronics in education today has added many wonderful benefits to the teaching and learning processes.  Just a few of them are:  through the internet, the world is at a student’s fingertips, children learn how to use technology, and there are many great programs that are designed to “speak” a student’s learning style.

While the benefits are far more than what I listed, things are also being lost.  Beautiful handwriting is exchanged for a pretty or no-nonsense font.  A text is sent instead of a handwritten thank-you note.  An email is composed instead of a personal letter.

I appreciate and even use technology in our classroom, but I find myself sad to see the art of letter writing fading away.  There is something personal about sitting down and penning a letter to someone that an email just cannot replicate.

I realize that most schools do not focus on handwriting any longer, but it is still a skill and an attribute I want our children to master.

What is our children’s favorite form of handwriting practice?  Pen pal letters!

Not only do they get to work on mastering their own cursive handwriting, they are also developing a friendship with someone across the state, across the country, and sometimes, across the world.  They are learning about the life and hometown of someone else on a personal level.

I get a huge thrill out of seeing the looks of excitement and joy on their faces when the mailbox holds a letter that is for them.  Their name is on their envelope, and its contents are just for them.  They save the letters and the envelopes!

They exchange letters, photos, stickers, and small gifts.  We head over to our large world wall map and find and pin the state and town of each of their pen pals.

There is far more than just the practicing of penmanship going on here, and it all started with sitting down, grabbing a sharp pencil and piece of paper, and writing a letter.

All for God’s glory,

~Rhen

Where do we get our pen pals?  Well, if you are a homeschool family, you can find pen pals at the Yahoo group, Homeschool Pen Pal Exchange!

~~Join us on Facebook at Yes, They Are All Mine~~

This post is linked up with Hip Homeschool Hop!

You can also check my post from last week’s HHH.

5 responses to “The Lost Art of Letter Writing

  1. I’m checking out the Christian-Homeschool-Penpal group on yahoo right now! Thank you!! I have 6 children, and the older ones (ages 6+) have been wanting to get mail. They love writing letters, too!

  2. Great post! Yes, I too think handwriting is important, not only to be able to write legibly, but I think one day people will regret not learning.

  3. Popping in from The Hop! I couldn’t agree more, penmenship and letter writing is such a lost art. I’m guilty of neglecting it myself! I love that you’ve developed penpals with your kids. I still remember my childhood penpals!

  4. Pen pals. A great idea!

  5. HI! I’m visiting from Circle of Moms =-) I think my favorite thing about the contest has been finding other homeschool families and getting to get a peak at their journey!!!

    We want a large family too… maybe not 8, but more than the “norm” what a blessing!

    I blog at Living Life Intentionally (currently #27 on the list) and would really like to get into the top 25!!! I would appreciate it so much if you would give me a vote!! Thanks for considering and Happy Homeschooling =-)
    Beth
    http://www.circleofmoms.com/top25/Top-25-Homeschooling-Moms-2012

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

