Thankful for Every “Square Foot”

Deciding on my Thankful Thursday posts is no easy task.  It is not that I cannot think of anything to be thankful for, on the contrary, I have a hard time narrowing it down.  Eight healthy kids?  Yep, thankful!  An ever-forgiving Saviour in Jesus?  Yep, thankful!  Being married to my dream man?  Yep, thankful!  Lost the baby weight and wearing my clothes?  Yep, thankful!

This week, my thankfulness is focusing on our vegetable gardens.

One of our two plantings of Country Gentleman Sweet Corn. Ooooo, a corn that is not GMO!

We really concentrated our efforts on two raised beds and the square foot gardening method.

One of our 6 Striata d I’talia squash plants. Looks like we will be having squash with dinner tonight. Yum!

I am loving just how much we are able to grow in a compact space!  It has made weeding a lot easier.

A few of our 13 Marketmore 76 cucumber vines. Mark made a trellis for them to grow up. We have not lost one cucumber to a bug that was crawling around in the dirt and started munching! 13 vines take up a space that is 7 foot long and 8 inches deep. That’s it!

We are also able to concentrate the soil amendments and fertilizers to the soil that the plants are growing in rather than the walkways.

A sweet, delicious pepper on one of our 6 Marconi Bell Pepper plants. I can’t wait to put a whole bunch of these in the freezer!

We are also able to water the beds and not the walkways.  See?  Resources going to our fruits and veggies and not the spaces for walking!

Some of our Purple Podded green beans. Mark built a nice tunnel for them to grow on. Lots of vertical space!

I am truly thankful that God has blessed our gardens so much.  We will be able to can or freeze lots of tomatoes, green beans, corn, okra, squash, cucumbers, and  more.

This is the strawberry popcorn we are growing. I want to take this with us camping and have fresh popcorn popped over the fire!

I am thankful for the fresh fruits and veggies.  I am thankful for the food we are steadily putting in our freezer or our pantry.  I am thankful for the great times we have had working our garden together.  I am thankful for the healthy family that comes from eating fresh, non-GMO foods!

What are you thankful for this week?

Link-up over at The Marathon Mom Thankful Thursday Linky!

All for God’s glory,

~Rhen

~Join us at Yes, They Are All Mine’s Facebook page~

Where do we get all of our non-GMO heirloom seeds?  Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds!

4 responses to “Thankful for Every “Square Foot”

  1. I grew up with a garden…but it was “my parents’ garden.” We kids contributed some hard labor to the garden here & there…but we didn’t have a vested interest. We never followed a plant from the dirt stage to the fruit stage…tenderly caring for each plant, watching in anticipation for it to bloom & produce fruit. It just looked like more work! We only did what we were told, with a sigh and a frown most of the time.

    Well, now that I’m all grown up & my own little family is out in the country, I planted my first tiny “practice garden” this year. Just a few things here & a few things there. It has been a struggle, to say the least. But I promised myself I would be happy if I ate one single thing out of that garden. And from the 10 seed potatoes I put in the ground, I did manage to harvet 1 single potato & we did eat it. (And that’s literally all I got…the plants all died.) But it’s a success, because I gave myself ridiculously low expectations. Haha! I have already eaten one thing…CHECK, done & done. There is a good chance we’ll eat a few more things out of the garden, but my expecations are still pretty low. Nothing is really thriving, just surviving (barely). Let’s just say it looks nothing like yours, but I’m thankful all the same! I wish I could pick your green-thumbed brain!!

    cc

  2. Hello, it’s nice to meet you. We have a couple of things in common! large families and gardens, although from the looks of your zuchini I think we’re definitely in different growing zones!

  3. I also love my box gardens. When we moved up here to NY 6 years ago, I put up some box gardens with a wonderful elderly neighbor…now, 5 more neighbors surrounding our backyard have box gardens! LOL We’re moving to GA in the next year or so, and I’m already planning to have the box gardens again. I found that cukes LOVE chicken poo….even “hot” poo! I am excited that we may finally get to have some land at our next destination–I’m planning to have a couple of milk goats in addition to the children’s pets and our ladies (the 7 hens), but I’m still planning on square foot gardening.

  4. Really applaud your commitment to your family and this beautiful world we have been gifted with through the use if non gmo’s! Bravo!

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

