Creating My Own Canvas Photo Display

Not long a ago, while I was obsessing over glancing around Pinterest, I saw a couple of pins that caught my eye, and one of them was about creating my own canvas art.  I was completely inspired and knew exactly what I wanted to do.

Remember where I showed you how I was able to use the peel and stick wall writing but still be able to move it with me?  I had another saying that I wanted to find a way to use, and this is how I did it and made it match my canvas photos.

The wall lettering part of the project required:

  • The wall art (50% off at Hobby Lobby)
  • A large canvas (40% off at Hobby Lobby)
  • Black glossy spray paint (already had it in the garage)
  • Glossy spray sealer (already had it in the garage)

First, I arranged and applied the vinyl lettering to the canvas.  It was not easy, as the lettering didn’t want to stick very well, but I was persistent!  After finally getting it on the canvas, I flipped the canvas over and put canned goods on the back of it.  The pressure helped it to stick better.

Then, I spray painted over the whole thing.

After the paint had dried, I gently peeled off all of the letters.

At first I was disappointed that the lettering didn’t have the clean edge that you would get on a solid surface, but then I started liking how it had an I-just-wrote-this-in-chalk look.  After all of the lettering was peeled off, I gave it a nice coating of clear gloss sealer and allowed it to dry.

This is how it turned out.

The next step in my project was to create my canvas photos.

Supplies for this part of the project:

  • Black and White 8×10 photos of each child ($1.49 each at Costco)
  • An 8×10 canvas for each photo (30% 0ff at Hobby Lobby)
  • Clear glossy sealer (already had this in the garage)
  • A large bottle of Modge Podge ($7.99 at Hobby Lobby)

I used the cardboard backing of a large coloring book as a work surface.  It caught any Modge Podge I dripped.  🙂

First, you cover a canvas with a generous coating of Modge Podge.

Next, align your picture on the canvas and gently work out any bubbles with your fingers.  Make sure the edges are firmly adhered to the Modge Podge.

Once the picture is secure, paint a generous layer of Modge Podge over the entire picture.  Make sure it is as even as possible and every inch is covered.

I wanted a textured look as if it had been painted on the canvas, so after the first coating of Modge Podge I applied from top to bottom dried, I painted a second layer going from left to right.

You can also use cheesecloth or a sponge to stipple an effect on the photo.  Get creative with your texture!

Here is how my texture turned out.  I over-exaggerated it in the picture so you could see it well.

Once the Modge Podge had firmly dried, I gave each canvas photo a generous coating of the clear glossy sealer and allowed it to harden.

When everything was dry, I created my very own canvas art display!

I am beyond thrilled with how well it turned out!

If I (my oh-so-not-crafty-self) can do this, so can you.

I looked to buy as much of the supplies as I could on sale or clearance, so it wasn’t expensive.  The whole thing took just an afternoon, and that is with doing 8 kids’ photos.  I let it all set overnight and hung it up the next day.

Inexpensive and not time-consuming, double bonus!!

With Father’s Day coming up, you can get creative with the pictures you take and have a great canvas photo display to showcase your beautiful family!

So, whadda think?  Be nice, please.  *grin*

All for God’s glory,

~Rhen

7 responses to “Creating My Own Canvas Photo Display

  1. This is wonderful. I have so many pictures that deserve a spot on the wall. I will certainly share this.
    Deb

  2. Leah from Thecalmafterthestorm14.blogspot.com

    Rhen!! This is awesome!!! I love every part of it!! What a great idea! I will be doing this some pics. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  3. Love the word canvas and the pictures! I am putting this on my to-do list!

  4. Thank you for sharing this is awesome!! Can’t wait to do this for my children’s photos!

  5. Absolutely love this! I repinned this to do in the future and still haven’t gotten around to it. You just gave me hope that my not-so-crafty self can do it too! Thanks!!

  6. onlythefields

    That is absolutely gorgeous! Makes me wanna rethink the pics we have had hanging in our living room for the last ten years…

  7. Soooo great! I see those on Pinterest all the time, and figure I’d never do it. I’m just aiming for a halfway-cleanish house these days. I used to love decorating and crafting, and it just doesn’t happen anymore. And I only have 4!! But this will be on my list of things to do if I ever get the basics on track…ever…ever…again. Okay, deep breath…examining my priorities…aaaaand, I’m good. 😉

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

