That’s just peachy!!

With it being in full swing of peach and avocado harvesting season, especially here in the deep south, we are taking a little blog post trip into the kitchen!
.
I have a goal of packing my freezer and my pantry full of fruits and vegetables that have been either grown by our family or purchased locally and processed in my very own kitchen.
.
Our little trip further south took us through Chilton County, and there was no way I was going to not pick up a couple of baskets of Chilton County peaches!
.
.
I had to fight off the Mark and the kids to keep them from eating all of the peaches before I could get them cut up!  You can see just how much they love peaches, as the baskets of peaches were so full they mounded up.
.
I peeled and cut up so many peaches that my fingers became all prune-y!  Yes, I did set aside a nice selection of peaches for our family to eat fresh.  I love a fresh and juicy peach!
.
.
My kitchen smelled so yummy.  It was a struggle to keep myself from stuffing my cheeks full of delicious peach slices.  You know I would have had that chipmunk look.
.
.
I cut up 12 cups worth of peaches that are destined to be enjoyed in cobblers, pies, smoothies, and homemade ice cream.
I need MORE peaches!
.
AND…
.
Thanks to Pinterest, I now know how to freeze avocados!  It is super easy and will allow me to make dips and guacamole when I can’t find avocados.
.
First, you peel and pit your avocados and put them in a bowl.  Next, you add 1 tablespoon of lemon juice per avocado.  I put mine in my Kitchen Aid to mash them up and thoroughly mix in the lemon juice.
.

.
Store the mashed avocados in an airtight bag and freeze.  That’s it!
I will be enjoying a little avocado dip this winter and dreaming of the warmth of summer!
.
Coming up soon, canning fruits and veggies from our garden.  I have big plans I tell you, big plans!
.
How about you?  What’s going on in your kitchen?
.
All for God’s glory,
~Rhen

Click image for link!

Click image for link!

Click image for link!

2 responses to “That’s just peachy!!

  1. Oh wow this brought back memories! There was a grandmotherly lady at my church when I was growing up that knew how much I LOVED frozen peaches. She always would save me several packages that she had made just for me…..always made me feel like I mattered to someone that she thought of me like that (there’s my middle child syndrome showing again…lol)

  2. So you just sliced the peaches and froze them without any more preparation? I love that idea! That gives much more versatility throughout the year. Unfortunately, it’s too cold to grow peaches where I live, but we have apples in abundance and (when I get ambitious enough to put some up) I always over think how much I should make into applesauce/apple pie filling/apple butter. It never occurred to me that I don’t have to decide all that in advance! 🙂

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

