Answering Homeschooling Questions

As a mom who has been educating her children at home for over 10 years now, I receive a lot of questions about how and what we do.

I enjoy answering every question I get.  I see them as opportunities to encourage, empower, and educate parents in their own homeschooling journeys.

Today, I chose four questions I have received quite frequently in the past few weeks.  I encourage you to leave your own answer(s) to the question(s) in a comment.  We all do things a little differently, and maybe we can help someone who is looking for options!

What kind of preschool curriculum do you use?  Is there a particular curriculum package you would recommend?

I get more questions about preschool and kindergarten than I do about any other grade.  My simplest answer, I don’t use a packaged curriculum.  Littles have such a thirst for knowledge and desire to be involved, and I want to harness and direct that with activities and experiences.  I don’t want them thinking that learning only comes from a book or a workbook.

Let me give you an example of working with Susannah (who just turned 5) when she started her preschool years.  While cutting up a banana to add to her granola, I would take the opportunity to ask her to identify the fruit and the color.  We then would talk about where it grows, what animals like to eat it, and what color the banana is before it is ripe.  I would maybe print off a coloring/ activity worksheet about a banana, the color yellow, the animal(s) we talked about, and/or the letter “b”.

There are many great places to print off free worksheets (I have several pinned) that work with the idea or subject you are enjoying with your Little.  Hands-on art, time in the garden, field trips to museums and zoos, and every day happenings like cooking are all great opportunities to cover letter sounds, colors, shapes, cause and effect, science, history, and more.  I prefer for my Littles to get into and active with their learning as opposed to only sitting at the table and working on workbooks and curriculum packs.

We also use flashcards, games, sand trays, and puzzles.

What homeschool conventions do you like to go to?

Um, I have never been to one.  Sad, I know.  It is not that I do not want to attend a conference, I REALLY do, but I have to find one that is around me without having to travel to Atlanta (I am in AL).

What science do you use for your middle school children?

I use Exploring Creation with Astronomy, Exploring Creation with Botany, and Exploring Creation with Zoology by Apologia.  I also use God’s Design for Life- Studying Plants and God’s Design for Chemistry by Answers in Genesis.  I am looking to get all of the Exploring Creation with series by Apologia.

Click picture for sourceClick picture for resource

How do you include art?

Art is a very vast subject with many mediums, inspirations, and personal experiences.  Our history (History Revealed by Diana Waring)  includes art (self-expression) in each chapter.   Our science also has opportunities to get creative, as well as geography.  While these subjects give great art assignments, I want more.  The kids love to do more!  Some of the art that we dabble in:  working with clay, pastels, watercolor paint, sand, acrylic paint, charcoal rubbings, sketching, origami, leaf art, and more.  If you are going to fit art into your schedule, you will have to intentionally create a day and time every week, or it will fall by the wayside.

What advice would you offer to the parents who asked these questions?

Do you have any homeschooling questions for me?

Next week, I will choose four more questions to answer.   I invite you to come back next Tuesday and join in to help encourage others!

This post is linked-up with Hip Homeschool Hop.  Pop over and check out many great homeschooling blogs.

All for God’s glory,

~Rhen

~~Join us on Yes, They Are All Mine’s Facebook page~~

You can also find me on Pinterest and Twitter!

One response to “Answering Homeschooling Questions

  1. I also receive a lot of these questions about preK. My answer is very similar to yours. I do provide parents information about grade level requirements, but also let them know one size does not fit all.

    Many analytical children do not develop any serious interest in independent reading until around 8 years of age. Einstein was a case in point. Boys handwriting is often not as advanced as are girls because of hand dexterity, ext. forcing children into grade level requirements can do more harm than good.

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

