One of THOSE days

Yesterday was one of THOSE days.  You know THOSE days.

THOSE days are days where you feel as if every step you take forward is a struggle, and for every step that you actually push through, you slide back two or three steps.  It reminds me of those dreams where no matter how fast you try to run, you just move in slow motion.  The harder you try to go faster the slower you go.

In the mid-afternoon, I stood in the kitchen and racked my brain to think of something I had accomplished.  I made a new batch of soap.  Good, good.  What else?  Um…uh…well…  Hey!  I am dressed.  The kids are dressed.    Oooo, that’s a little better.  We did get math lessons completed.   Learning, that’s important.

What is so frustrating about that?  On an average day, all of that may take an hour and a half, but on one of THOSE days, it took up my morning and most of my afternoon!  Grrrrr.  Do you ever THOSE days?  What helps you to get through it?

Despite all of the frustration I felt over being completely unproductive, my attitude did turn around, and I have to give thanks where it is due.  God has so blessed me with such real and true readers who follow here and on my Facebook page.  I want to thank everyone who stopped to give a few words of encouragement, who understood with a “been there, done that” post, and offered a prayer.  What a difference you all made.  God is so good!

The rest of my day was still one of THOSE days, but it didn’t bring my attitude down.  The enemy can only steal my joy if I let him!

At the end of the day, despite not being my normally productive self, I went to bed smiling and ready to tackle a new day.

All for God’s glory,

~Rhen

5 responses to “One of THOSE days

  1. Today is one of those days for me. J

  2. Today is one of those days for me. Just thinking this day would be over already. My two year old; who has been sick, but is getting better, is really trying me today. Daddy has been at a conference since Monday morning and I am so ready for him to be home. Thankfully that is today. I just feel like crying because I feel like a terrible mon right now. I am not usually like this and feel that I handle things well, but today is just one of THOSE days. Thank you for your encouragement!

  3. Pingback: Thankful Thursday~ Overflowing | Yes, They Are All Mine

  4. We have THOSE days way more often than makes any sense. And they seem to hit when I really want to do something nice with my kids – a craft, an afternoon at the park. I don’t get it. But I think we’ve done better this week – maybe it will be a trend. 🙂 ((hugs))

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

