Before the sun rises

“She also rises while it is yet night, And provides food for her household, And a portion for her maidservants.  She considers a field and buys it; From her profits she plants a vineyard.  She girds herself with strength, And strengthens her arms.”  Proverbs 31 15-17

I want to be that woman.

Truly.

I want to be the woman who rises before the sun does, and who has puts aside a few quiet moments with my King, and reflects in His word before the day begins.

I want to be the woman who makes every moment of every day count.  Really count.

On those few days when I overcome the eyes that feel like cotton, the fog in my head, and a body that just wants to sleep for days, I accomplish so much.  Those are the days when I can pound out a chore list that is 4 feet long, choreograph a dance that keeps the Littles entertained and learning while helping the Middles and Bigs hurdle forward with their schoolwork, manage frustrations with a smile, and remember to take the time and enjoy my children.

Those are the days that I want to fill my weeks, months, and years with.  Those are the days I want to fill my children’s lives with.   Those are the days I want to bless my husband with.

Sadly, far too often the reality sees me getting up with just minutes to make my bed, grab a cup of coffee, and get the kids up and ready for Bible study.

I cannot tell you just how much I dislike the days when we do not start on time.  From the moment my feet hit the floor I am playing catch-up.  All. Day.  Long.  Everything is in a rush, everything is go-go-go, and breaks are almost non-existent.

Who has the power to fix this?  Me.  Why don’t I?  I really don’t know.

What comes next?  Me making  better choices.  That is the only answer.  I have to make the choice to set my alarm and rise when it goes off.  I have to choose to put God first in my day.  I have to choose to get up and take some time to focus on  God before I get my day with the kids going.

Will it be easy?  *sigh*  No.  Will it be worth it?  I can answer that with a resounding, “Yes!”.  I have heard that the more you drag yourself out of bed in the mornings the easier it gets.  I can only hope so!  *grin*

Anyone else face this, or are you all people who have no problems rising early?

Always in God’s mighty hands.

~Rhen

~~Join us on Yes, They Are All Mine’s FB page!~~

3 responses to “Before the sun rises

  1. I am the same way. If I get up in time to get dressed and have quiet time our days go so much better than when I sleep until the kids get up. Maybe it does get easier for some but it is a daily struggle for me to get up before the sun rises.

  2. Rhen, I struggle with this too. I need a lot of sleep… I hate it, but it’s a fact. I push myself for a while and usually end up sick (literally).

    At this super busy season of my life, I feel like there’s SO MUCH more I could accomplish if I just didn’t need to sleep! 😉

    I’ve had to realize to set reasonable goals, and let go of my expectations of being Super Woman. I’m useless to my children if I’m griping and grumping all day long because I’m not getting suficient rest.

    Being disciplined about going to bed at a decent hour goes a long way in helping me get a good, eary start on my day. I’m intereted in hearing what other mamas might have to say!

  3. This used to be me. I made a resolution a year or two ago that no matter what I would stand up out of the bed when the alarm went off. It helped me that my coffee was programmed to brew by the time I made it downstairs. I cherish that time with the Lord so deeply. My eldest son wakes up extremely chipper each morning so having time to actually be awake before him helps me to be better at receiving him in the mornings. So worth the extra effort!

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

