You Capture ~Harvest

Yay, it is You Capture! day!

Rather than focus on decorations, I decided to take “harvest” in a different direction.

After the harvest

As we drive the country roads here in Alabama, we find stretches of cotton fields around every corner.  I am always amazed by the amount of cotton that is left after the harvest.

Once filled with little clouds of cotton fluff, only one remains.

I brought it home and plan to continue God’s cycle by planting it’s seeds in our garden this coming spring.

I harvested these beautiful sweet peppers during our visit to Granny and Papaw’s house.  These lovely peppers were then used in a absolutely amazing batch of chili.  It makes my stomach growl just thinking about it. Mmm.

My final harvest during our visit was to Granny’s giant Rosemary bush in the garden.  I hung my harvest in bunches that are tied together with ribbon.  I will use this Rosemary in my soaps and in recipes.

A second shot of the Rosemary.  I enjoy playing with the pictures.

This post is linked up with many other fantastic blogs over at I Should Be Folding Laundry.  Check it, link up, and have fun!

In God’s hands,

~Rhen

~~Join us on Yes, They Are All Mine’s FB page~~

4 responses to “You Capture ~Harvest

  1. There’s something stunning about a cotton field, isn’t there? Reminds me of my grandpa. Lovely captures this week.

  2. Beautiful captures! Love the last rosemary shot. Also love that you brought home some cotton seeds to plant next year 🙂

  3. All I can say is Wow! I love your captures and the way you find light for your photos. I also love your processing techniques!

  4. Gorgeous captures today. I love the cotton fields a lot. I grew up. and still live in Arkansas and still enjoy seeing all the farm grounds with cotton, soybeans and rice on them. I now live in the Ozark Mountains and don’t get to see the fields as often as before. It’s funny, I took my grandchildren down to the flat lands the week before Halloween to visit a pumpkin patch and corn maze. I forget that the kids have not seen a lot of farm country and when we passed a field full of cotton my grandson asked what it was. So naturally I explained to him and stopped the car. he and I jumped out, grabbed a branch or few and ran back to the car. He now has his cotton at home and is planning on planting some of his own next year. 🙂

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

