Dresses and Aprons- Looking Good

I am not much of a sewing person.  I want to be, I am trying to be, but I am just not there yet.

That being said, when I find something I can easily “sew” to create something new, I get a little giddy.  *grin*

Ms. Serious (14) and I were recently at the Salvation Army and found an adorable dress.  The problem?  It was strapless.  We don’t do strapless in our home.

We came up with a plan.   I had a bag of ribbon pieces for us to search through and find something we could use as straps.  I found 2 different colors that matched perfectly and we set to work.

First, she tried on the dress and I pinned the ribbons into place.  Then, I hand-stitched them.  I didn’t want the thread to show on the other side, and hand stitching allowed me to connect the straps to the inside layer of the dress.

Instead of regular straps, we decided to have them tie around her neck.  She can wear a little shrug, a jacket, or a shawl to cover her shoulders when she wants to.  I love the way the bow peeks out and hangs down her back.

…and the back…

Here is a shot of the dress without the little shrug.  She prefers to wear something on her shoulders, but she was sweet enough to let me photograph her like this so you can see how the straps look.

Now, onto someone who is far less cute in pictures than Ms. Serious (14), me.  I will tell you right now that I am not photogenic, so you need to just be thankful I post anything with me in it.  *hides behind camera*

Lissy, at Life With Lissy, spearheaded a huge breast cancer awareness month of giveaways in October.  I was super blessed to win an apron from Sew Beautiful Aprons.  It arrived yesterday, and, of course, I had to try it out immediately.

Oh, the sassiness!!!

I can be sassy with a little bit of spunk, or…

…I can let my more wild side show!

While preparing dinner with Mr. Muscles, I let my wild side loose.  I think it definitely gave dinner a little bit of something extra.  *grin*

Thank you, Lissy and Sew Beautiful Aprons !

How sassy do you get in the kitchen?

In God’s hands,

~Rhen

♦—♦Join us on Yes, They Are All Mine’s FB page—♦

3 responses to “Dresses and Aprons- Looking Good

  1. Your photos are ABSOLUTELY ADORABLE! Thanks for the shout out! I love it.

  2. WOW you did a great job. What a idea I would have never thought of that.
    Have a great day!
    Jessica

  3. The straps are just perfect! I love the wild side of the apron. Thanks for stopping by.

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

