Birthday Cake ~Octopus Style!

I take great pleasure in brainstorming, designing, creating, and surprising my kids with their birthday cakes.

I also enjoy sharing the making of those cakes, cakes, cakes, and cakes with you.

Today is no different!

I went with an ocean theme for Ms. Lovebug’s cake.

Here is her Bob the Octopus cake:

This cake is made of two 10″ round cakes and 2 half ball cakes.  I purchased my ball cake pan {which consists of two halves} at Hobby Lobby.

The 10″ rounds are stacked with a generous layer of homemade buttercream icing between them.

I trimmed off the bottom third of one of the half balls to anchor the octopus into the cake.  A layer of buttercream “glues” it in place.  I then added a layer of buttercream to the half ball that is anchored on the cake and “glue” the other half ball to it to form the octopus.

I colored a batch of buttercream blue and used it between all of the layers, I dirty iced with it, and I used it as my final layer.  To create the wavy look of water on the top, I used the back of a spoon and twirled it around on the icing.

I crushed graham crackers and pressed them into the side of the cake to look like sand.  Then, I sprinkled the “water” with blue sugar crystals.  It was a great touch!

I made a second batch of buttercream and colored it purple.  I used a #30 open star tip to cover the octopus.  His legs are simply created by using the same star tip.  I made them twist around different parts of the cake.

To make the seashells, I used a seashell candy mold and baker’s semi-sweet chocolate.  I melted the chocolate, poured it into the mold, and allowed them to harden.  The octopus’ eyes are two fan shells.

Did she like?

Um…….

…yeah!

Bob the Octopus was a trooper, and, not to mention, yyyyuuuuummmmmmmmmmyyyyyy!  🙂

Ms. Dimples (2) was very happy.

Ms. Serious (14) and I put a lot of hard work and heart into creating a piñata to match the cake.

Ms. Firecracker (11) is doing an excellent job helping to display Bob the Piñata.  Bravo!

If you would like to know how we made the piñata let me know.  It was pretty easy and a lot of fun!

So, whadya think?

In God’s hands,

~Rhen

~~Join us on Yes, They Are All Mine’s FB page~~

5 responses to “Birthday Cake ~Octopus Style!

  1. All I can say is WOW! 🙂 My one son just loves undersea life, especially, octopi, so I will definitely have to keep this in mind for his next birthday! You are SO creative.

    Hope you have a blessed weekend,
    Lisa

  2. Soooo cute and creative!!!yes i would luv to learn how to make a pinata!!!my daughters bday is the 30th and she would love that!!…hiselbobbie@yahoo.com

  3. That is one awesome looking cake! Thanks for stopping by the blog!

  4. Pingback: You Capture! ~A look back~ | Yes, They Are All Mine

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

