I Heart Handmade Gifts

If you have been a reader here at Yes, They Are All Mine for even a small length of time, you know I have a soft spot for handmade gifts.

I get just as much joy out of creating and giving handmade gifts as I do receiving them.  Knowing someone took the time and effort to make something for me fills me with a wonderfully warm feeling.

Our family had an absolute blast celebrating Ms. Firecracker’s 11th birthday back in September, the eleventh, to be exact.  It was her golden birthday!  One of the gifts she received from Mr. Muscles and I was a name sign I created for her.  Thank you, Hobby Lobby!  🙂

This past week, our family took a week long camping trip up to Joe Wheeler State Park to celebrate Ms. Lovebug’s 9th birthday.  {I have a post, with pictures, coming tomorrow about that.}  She also received her own handmade name sign.

I made this one completely different from Ms. Firecracker’s.  I wanted it to reflect Ms. Lovebug, her favorite colors, and I wanted it to match the quilt she was gifted by Granny and Papaw.

Now, onto my how-to for making this name sign!

Items I used:

  • 6 inch wooden letters
  • orange-yellow acrylic paint
  • cloth flowers
  • small pink silk flowers
  • little wired decorations
  • ribbon
  • hot glue gun
  • small picture hangers
  • clear glitter

Here are the letters I chose:

Here are the pretties I used to decorate the letters.

The colors and flower shapes in this ribbon matche her new quilt perfectly.  Yeah!

First, I painted the letters with two layers of orange-yellow acrylic paint.  Two coats give them a nice and smooth coverage.

Then, I very lightly sprinkled a clear glitter on the letters when the second coat of paint was still wet.  This gives a little dimension to the paint.

Next, I measured, cut, tied, and hot-glued the ribbons into place.  The ribbons are what the letters are hung by.

Here is what they looked like at this point:

After the glue had set, I hot-glued the cloth flowers, the silk flowers, and the pretties in place.

I tried to make it random, yet balanced.

I also hot-glued a little picture hanger to the back of each bow so I would be able to hang each letter from a small nail.

Here are the letters once I finished decorating them.

I was very pleased with how well they turned out.

Did Ms. Lovebug like her gift?

Here is a shot of her right when she opened her eyes to see her name displayed on the picnic table in front of her.

That, my friends, is not just the icing on the cake.  It is the icing, sprinkles, hot fudge, and chocolate chunks!!

That makes my momma heart soar.

Do you make gifts for your children?  What do you make?  Let me know!

Always in God’s hands,

~Rhen

***Join us on Yes, They Are All Mine’s FB page***

10 responses to “I Heart Handmade Gifts

  1. Wow, the look on your daughter’s face is just priceless! How wonderful that you were able to capture it! 🙂 I, too, love homemade items. I also love to bake and have given my goodies away, too.

    Many blessings,
    Lisa

  2. How neat, post like this make me wish I had a girl do these crafty things for.

  3. Pingback: You Capture- Family Fun in the Fall! | Yes, They Are All Mine

  4. Pingback: Make Name Sign Art | Yes, They Are All Mine

  5. Pingback: Making a Name Sign Shelf | Yes, They Are All Mine

  6. Do you have any ideas for boys? or do you just do them for your girls? I just have boys, and I think it is a great idea.

  7. Pingback: A Couple of Different Name Sign Designs | Yes, They Are All Mine

  8. Pingback: Fun Balloon Inspired Name Sign | Yes, They Are All Mine

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

