The “I Wants” of Homeschooling

As a homeschooling mom, I field a lot of questions about the “hows”, “whys”, and “what-fors” in our decisions from our choice to homeschool, to curriculum, to extra-curricular activities, and beyond.

There is a laundry list of the “I don’t wants” for our children, but I am not interested in focusing on them.

I want to share with you the “I wants” of homeschooling in our family.  I want to share with you the blessings our family has received through homeschooling.

One of the biggest blessings is getting time to be with my family and enjoy my children.  I genuinely like my kids.  I enjoy laughing and playing with my kids.  The view of the world through their eyes is amazing.

Mr. Muscles and I have been able to form very strong bonds, and solid relationships with our children.  They feel comfortable enough to come to us with issues, even if they know we will not be happy with them.

What did I want from the homeschooling experience?  I wanted:

…their education to be far more than just books.  I wanted them to be able to be very hands-on and to get out and get dirty while learning.

…God to be the center of our family, our learning, and our daily lives.

…our children to be more than just siblings, or kids who lived in the same house, but developed lives completely outside of each other.  I have had the joy of watching my children become each other’s best friends

….to be able to incorporate subjects that we believe make for a well-rounded and accomplished individual:  handwriting, creative writing, literature studies, art, music, and more.

…to be able to give them opportunities to serve others and our community.  The lessons they have learned and continue to learn are helping the to grow into young people with a heart for God and the people around them.

…them to learn how to hold their own in a conversation with people of all ages and backgrounds.  I wanted them to step outside of their little comfort zone bubble and realize that the world is not divided up into groups of people who are the same age and those are the people you learn to interact with.  Get out there and meet the people God has created!

It has been an awesome experience to watch the kids pursue their passions and interests and learn math, history, science, and a wide range of subjects through them.

I have been blessed to be able to guide my children through their struggles and watch them triumph.

Ms. Serious (14) donating her hair to Locks of Love.

As homeschoolers, we take care to connect with other homeschooling families of varying lifestyles, backgrounds, family sizes, and homeschooling foundations.

The blessings of homeschooling our children have far outweighed the stress-filled moments, the struggles, and the difficult subjects.  We have conquered, and we will continue to do so.  We have laughed, and we will laugh more.  We have learned, and stand facing forward ready to learn more and accomplish goals.

I pray we are instilling a love of learning and a heart for God in each of our children.

What are some of the blessings you have discovered through homeschooling?

In God’s hands,

~Rhen

♠Join us on Yes, They Are All Mine’s FB page!♠

This post is linked up with Hip Homeschool Moms!

One response to “The “I Wants” of Homeschooling

  1. This post is so encouraging to me as we start our own homeschool journey for many of the same reasons. Thanks!!

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

