We Sparkly Heart Science

Mr. Muscles and I both have a love for science, especially the projects and experiments.  Who doesn’t enjoy blowing stuff up and learning physics by launching pumpkins?

In years past, I have used a wide variety of curriculum to teach science, but I have heard so many great things about Apologia, that I had to see what all of the fuss was about.

This is our first year using Apologia science curriculums, and the kids have jumped in with both feet! Science has now moved to the top of the heap for each one of our oldest four.  Yay!  Thank you, Apologia, for ramping up the fun and learning in science.

Ms. Firecracker (10) skewering a balloon without it popping.

Our children are very hands-on and have immensely enjoyed all of the experiments that come with most of the lessons.

Ms. Serious (14), who has the knack for teaching, doesn’t just let the rest of the tribe peek at her experiments and projects from around the corner or across the room, she calls them in and lines them up!  She explains to them what she is doing and why.  How can I not absolutely love that? *big grin*

Ms. Lovebug (8) coloring sidewalk chalk.

Ms. Lovebug’s (8) favorite, so far, has been experimenting with colors.  To add to this lesson, we used a light and color project from Hobby Lobby.  She enjoyed making new colors by combining two or more primary colors, changing the shades of colors little by little , and making her own sidewalk chalk.  The Littles were amazed that she could actually make sidewalk chalk.

Young Man (12) making adjustments to his solar oven.

Young Man had the baking soda and vinegar experiment, but this one used a paper towel as a delay.  One thing led to another and he figured out that if you combined everything in a drinking bottle with a pop-up spout you could shake it up and surprise attack someone (Dad) about 25 feet away.  I could just kick myself for not getting pictures!

The above picture is of Young Man (12) making adjustments to his solar oven.  He discovered the plans for a simple, homemade solar oven in one of my Countryside magazines.  He and Ms. Firecracker (10) both built their own and made adjustments.  They decided to put them head to head to see if their “improvements” made one better than the other.  When I was making a batch of bread I gave them each a small ball of dough to cook in their ovens.  Though their adjustments didn’t make any difference, the satisfaction on their faces while chomping down on their solar oven baked bread was priceless!

What’s next?  Hmmmmmm.  Maybe a hydroelectric experiment!

What experiments/ projects are happening in your classroom?

Always in God’s hands,

~Rhen

This post is linked up to the Hip Homeschool Hop.  Pop over to check out many, many great homeschoolers.

Follow Yes, They Are All Mine on Facebook!

5 responses to “We Sparkly Heart Science

  1. I love the Apologia sciences! They are so awesome! My kids enjoy doing all of their projects and experiments. Have fun!

  2. I can’t imagine your piles of laundry with 8! I have 3 and seem to be washing, hanging out and folding almost every day! (Perhaps mine just have TOO much clothing! LOL)

    LOVE that Ms. Serious helps teach the younger kids! How AWESOME is that?!

    We also use Apologia. This year we’re finally getting to Astronomy. (We’ve completed Zoo I-III, Botany, and General.) My oldest wanted to try something different so he’s doing Prentice Hall Earth Science this year, but he’ll probably return to Apologia Biology next year. LOVE that the projects and experiments are easy to pull together and understand!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting!

  3. My kiddos are going to be using Apologia for the first time this year! I am so glad that I just read your blog! I am getting even more excited about getting started. 🙂

    Thanks so much for visiting my blog and for your kind comment.

    Many blessings,
    Lisa
    http://our4kiddos.blogspot.com
    P.S. I am now a new follower of your blog, as well! 🙂

  4. Visiting from the Hip Homeschool Hop. We love Science too. I have been looking at purchasing the Apologia curriculum for our family. I have heard great things from everyone about it. Thanks for sharing!

  5. Pingback: Apologia Biology | Yes, They Are All Mine

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

