In the Garden Today

Strolling through the garden early in the morning brings about surprises and a sense of satisfaction.

There is always something new that has bloomed, sprouted, grown, or come ripe.  The best mornings are the ones right after a good thunderstorm.  We are talking jungle growth!

Here in the deep south we gardeners are truly blessed.  We  get an early spring garden, we have the opportunity to have a double summer planting, and we have a fall/winter garden.

I am taking full advantage and just sowed my second summer planting.

My second round includes German Okra, DeMarge Lettuce, radishes.

Lazy Housewife Pole Beans, Baby Round Zucchini, Lady Lucy Tomatoes,

Chocolate Beauty Pepper, and several varieties of flowers.

I just planted these last week and, thanks to the thunder storms rich with lightning and rain, we have seeds sprouting and charging on!

Purple Plum Radishes

Lazy Housewife Pole Beans

Mr. Muscles’ jalapeno pepper plant is producing so well that I am hoping to find a good jalapeno jelly recipe to try.

Jalapeno Pepper

After battling an armadillo that kept disturbing my Black Zucchini plants, the zucchini are growing and producing like gangbusters.

Black Zucchini

I have been shredding and freezing a lot of zucchini to make brownies and bread.   Warm slices of zucchini bread on a cold winter’s day just warms the body all the way to your toes.  Mmmmm!  It also is fantastic to thicken up a soup or a stew and adds more veggies.

Shredded Zucchini

Did I mention the fresh cucumbers and Yellow Pear tomatoes we are enjoying almost daily?

How does your garden grow?

All for God’s glory,

~Rhen

You can follow me at Yes, They Are All Mine’s Facebook page!

This post is linked up with Getting Freedom’s Gardening Carnival.  Lots of great gardening posts .

4 responses to “In the Garden Today

  1. Did you se the jalapeno jelly recipe I posted on my FB yesterday? It’s also on my site under Recipes/Canning.

    I’m hoping to get my late summer/fall crop in the ground this weekend. Very thankful we also get 2 growing seasons.

    • No, I didn’t see the recipe, but I will be going back to check it out. Thank you!
      We will be starting our fall/ winter garden planting next month. I would love to get another raised bed ready to go and not have to try to fit it in with all of out summer stuff. 🙂

  2. An armadillo? Never would have thought about that pest!

    Your garden is looking good, thank you so much for visiting my blog!!

  3. Okay – so I’m a little jealous of your 3 season garden – and your jalapeno peppers! Bring on the jalapeno poppers! Your garden looks great! 🙂

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

