Experimenting in the Kitchen

It was only a little while ago I shared my Nacho Casserole recipe with you.  I also shared our Grilled Pizza recipe with you.

Both recipes are a huge hit in our home, and in several of your homes as well.  Yay!

In addition to being a handful-of-this and a dash-of-that kind of person, I really enjoy experimenting with recipes.

My latest recipe adventure has been the combining of the nachos and the pizza to form Nacho Pizza!

Seriously, it is better than it sounds.  I received several wrinkled noses from the children when I announced my dinner plans.  Let’s just say that there are no more wrinkled noses in response to my Nacho Pizza.  Ha ha!

This is super easy to make and requires a very short prep time.

Ingredients:  ground turkey (or beef), refried beans, shredded cheese, cumin, onions, salt, pepper, and thickly sliced bakery bread (I now make my own Rosemary/ Olive Oil bread for this).  Optional:  bell peppers, diced tomatoes, garlic.

First, brown the meat.  Once the meat is cooked add your spices, 3-4 shakes of cumin, 2-3 shakes of pepper, and little salt.  If you like garlic, add some.  Now add your diced onions.  If you like bell pepper or diced tomatoes in your nachos, add them now as well.  Get creative!  Allow this mixture to cook on low for about 5-7 minutes, stirring periodically.

You will need to prepare your refried beans.  They need to be the consistency of pizza sauce, or a little thicker.

On each slice of bread spread a generous amount of refried beans.  Top the refried beans with your meat.   Sprinkle shredded cheese over the whole thing.

I put a little olive oil on the pan where I assemble each “pizza”.  This keeps it from sticking from the grill and gives it a nice flavor.

Grill your nacho pizzas for about 5 minutes, or until the cheese is melted.  Be careful not to grill them too long or they will burn on bottom.

You can add toppings like sour cream after they have been removed from the grill.

The whole family agreed that these would be added to the rotation in our dinner menu notebook .  Yay!

The great thing about Nacho Pizzas is that they can be individualized just as you would pizza or nachos.  Make them into what you like!

I like to round off dinner with a salad as often as I can.  What is my favorite salad?  Greek salad.  It is absolutely yummy.  Simply dice up tomatoes, cucumbers and onions.  Crumble feta cheese over the top and drizzle with olive oil.

Upcoming in the kitchen:  homemade peach cobbler made with real Chilton County peaches!   There is nothing that tops this cobbler better than homemade vanilla ice cream.  Mmmmmmm!   Did I mention that Mr. Muscles will be making the cobbler?  🙂

If you try any of the recipes shared on Yes, they are all mine, please feel free to share you experience with us on Yes, they are all mine’s Facebook page.  Pictures are welcome!

Always in God’s mighty hands,

~Rhen

This post is linked up with Life With Lissy’s Recipe Link-up!

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

