A Post Overflowing With Food!

I have a couple dishes and a fantastically yummy dessert to share with you.

They have been combined into one post that is overflowing with food!

First, we are going south of the border!  This is a favorite among the whole family and is often requested.  We have named this one Nacho Casserole.

I will give you the recipe for a single dish, but the pictures will show a double portion.  Just so you know!

Prep time is about 20 minutes, and cook time is about 20-25 minutes.

Ingredients

Tortilla chips ( I get the whole grain chips from Costco)

1 pound of ground meat (I use turkey)

2 cups of refried beans (canned or homemade)

salsa (canned or homemade)

shredded cheese (I love sharp cheddar)

spices:  cumin, garlic, pepper

Directions:

Brown your ground meat and, when it is ready, set it to the side.  When the meat is browned, add several shakes of cumin, a couple shakes of garlic, and a shake or two of pepper, then allow it to cook for a few minutes more so the meat is done and the spices are cooked into it.  The spices are totally up to you, but I highly recommend cumin.  It makes all the difference!

Prepare your refried beans.  Homemade in a crock pot is great, but canned will work just fine.  They need to be a little liquidy and not too thick.  You want to be able to ladle them onto the casserole.

In a large pan, spread out a good layer of chips.

Spread the ground meat out over the top of the chips, then ladle the refried beans over the top of the ground meat and chips.

Next, spoon out a layer of salsa.

The final topping is the shredded cheese.  Use at your own discretion!   I like my cheese to be about a 1/3 of the thickness of the casserole.  *wink*

Bake at 350° for about 20 minutes.  You will see the beans and salsa begin to bubble slightly.  At that point, I like to broil on high for a few minutes and get the cheese nice and melted.  This will also brown your cheese a bit if you prefer it that way.  Mr. Muscles does!

The great thing about this recipe is that it is completely customizable.  You can make it all veggie, you can add olives, onions, and tons more.  I serve each plate with a dollop of sour cream.

Ta dah!

Last night I made grilled pizza, but instead of pizza dough, I experimented with fresh baked Rosemary/ Olive Oil bread.

I sliced the bread into 1 1/2 inch thick pieces.  I spooned on a generous layer of homemade pizza sauce and then topped with different items.  I made a variety of combinations to appeal to each person.  Some pieces had only ground turkey and cheese while others were loaded with ground turkey, mushrooms, onions, olives and cheese.

I grilled them for only about 5 minutes.  That was just long enough to melt the cheese and warm each “slice” thoroughly.

Yum!

Lastly, I want to share dessert with you.

Don’t they look scrumptious?  They tasted even better!

Strawberries, dark chocolate and a drizzle of white chocolate.  They were a huge hit.  But, what kid doesn’t love chocolate?!  *grin*

If you decide to make the above dishes and share a post about it, I would love to see it.  Please let me know!

All for God’s glory,

~Rhen

You can join me on Facebook at Yes, They Are All Mine  

I also invite you to check out MBK Creations ~Handmade Goat Milk Soap – my FB soap page!

This post is linked up to Life With Lissy and her recipe Link-up!

6 responses to “A Post Overflowing With Food!

  1. That all looks positively divine! YUM!

  2. I’ve used “raw” corn tortillas in a very similar recipe, but hadn’t thought about using crispy tortillas! We will definitely have to give it a try 😀

    I’m also experimenting with using the grill for things I wouldn’t normally. It certainly helps keep the house cooler that way. Tonight, I went here: http://thehappyhousewife.com/cooking/bread-machine-pitas-on-the-grill/ and used her pitas on the grill recipe. They puffed up beautifully! You just have to try them!

  3. They both look soooooo good! We will definately have to try them!

  4. I want to eat at your house – like all the time – seriously – please? 😉

  5. Pingback: Menu Planning | Yes, They Are All Mine

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

