Some Kind of Yummy

Just a few weeks ago I was visiting some fellow homeschool blogs and I came upon a recipe called Pizza Meatloaf.  Oh honey, how could I not give something like that a try?

I wish I could remember whose blog I read it on so I could give her credit.  I searched for almost an hour without any luck.

Anywhooooo, I gave it a wing and it turned out delicious!  It was a huge hit with both Mr. Muscles and the children.  Score!

It looked yummy and made the house smell fantastic.

Now, I am not much of a by-the-book recipe person.  I am more of a handful of this, a pinch of that, and a scoop of this kind of person, so I will give you the recipe the best I can and for a family of 4-6.  We, of course, more than doubled this recipe.  Oh, and I cannot say that this is the exact original recipe.  I am a little like that as well.  I took the idea and ran with it.  🙂

You will need:

1 lb of ground meat (I use turkey or venison)

1 jar of spaghetti sauce or a large jar of pizza sauce (I make my own marinara, but the store bought stuff works just fine!)

approx. 2 cups of shredded cheese

1 egg

1 cup of oatmeal (or breadcrumbs, or crushed crackers… whatever you prefer to use)

1 small can of tomato paste

a squirt of mustard (optional, but it gives a little kick)

Mix the meat, egg, half a cup of cheese, the oatmeal, the small can of tomato paste, and 1 cup of spaghetti sauce (pizza sauce) together in a large bowl.

Form it into a loaf pan.

Cook it in the oven at a temperature of 375 for approximately 25-30 minutes.

When the meatloaf is almost done take it out of the oven, pour 1 cup of spaghetti sauce (or pizza sauce) over the top of it, sprinkle the rest of the cheese over it, and return it to the oven.  Give it long enough to finish cooking and melt the cheese.

If you happen to know which homeschool blogger recently posted about Pizza Meatloaf I would love to know.

Enjoy!

All for God’s glory,

~Rhen

Come follow me on Facebook!

4 responses to “Some Kind of Yummy

  1. Oh, I’m so glad you remembered the Pizza Meatloaf Recipe! Here is the link:
    http://aseasonforallthings.blogspot.com/2011/04/pizza-meatloaf.html.

    Your version looks good, too!

    ~ Ellen

    • I am SO glad you read this post!! I tried for an hour to find the blog I read that posted the recipe. Now I will have to compare and see how well I did or not remember it. 🙂 ~Rhen

  2. I cook a lot like you you – a pinch here and double that and what was the original recipe anyway? This one looks really yummy!

  3. Pingback: Menu Planning | Yes, They Are All Mine

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

