Mosaics- Preschool Style!

As a mom to a preschooler and a homeschooler, I have to share fun and educational treasures when I find them.  Honey, did I find one!

During one of our attempting-to-kill-three-and-a-half-hours-of-Ms.-Firecrackers-gymnastics-practice trips to Hobby Lobby we found this:

It is a sticker mosaic kit, and it looked like it would be a lot of fun for Ms. Giggles (4) to do while the older kids are doing schoolwork, or when we are sitting at the gym, so we grabbed it.

She and I are both loving it!

My favorite features:

♥it teaches/ reinforces identifying colors

♥it teaches/ reinforces identifying shapes

♥it refines fine motor skills

♥the child can work on it for a while, take a break, and be able to come back to it without any difficulty

♥it not only challenges the child by having them match up shapes, they have to match up a particular shape and color combination

♥easy clean-up

♥there are several themes including:  pets, fish, wild animals

I am loving just how proud she is of herself!

Have a homeschool tip, trick, advice, field trip, or story you want to share?  Looking for any of these?  Pop over to the Hip Homeschool Hop and check everyone who has linked up.  I love peeking into others’ homeschool life!

Before you leave, I have a question for you.  If you are a homeschooler, do you follow the public school year or do you homeschool year-round?  I would love to know!

Always in God’s mighty hands,

~Rhen

Follow me on Facebook!

7 responses to “Mosaics- Preschool Style!

  1. Those are SOO cute!! I love Hobby Lobby…gonna have to look for those! Glad you linked up to the Hop!

    Linda
    The Homeschool Apologist
    The Joyful Journey

  2. We have something similar to this, but they are foam mosaics. I got it from Hobby Lobby too. Our 9 year old who’s autistic even gets it out and plays with it. Great fine motor skills!!

    We homeschool year round. We usually do 6 weeks on and 1 week off. But it depends on the kids schedules, I have the flexbility (and the kids do not even realize) to move a break off this schedule. Usually during the summer, its a light load since the kids want to be outside so much.

    New follower from Hip Homeschool blog hop
    Renita
    http://www.krazykuehnerdays.com

  3. Oh my goodness, those things ARE awesome!! My kids LOVE those!! Such fun!!
    Thanks for stopping my my blog today!! Visiting you back from the HHH!!

  4. That looks awesome. I might have to stash that idea away for this summer. We do year round. It is VERY hot here in the summer and unless you are in the pool there just isn’t much to do unless you make it outdoors before 8am… So we do a lot more indoor school work during the summer and go to the zoo, nature walk and explore more during the rest of the year!

  5. Hi Rhen! Thx for visiting my blog. I love the art project! So adorable.

    In answer to your question, we school year round. We take some of the same holidays off, but for the most part, we make our own schedule.

  6. Hi Rhen, that looks great – our Miss 4 loves stickers of all kinds, so I am sure she would love those projects!

    I am so glad to read you are all ok, we in Australia have been watching the footage of the southern USA and praying for all those families affected…

  7. Hey Rhen, thanks for visiting my blog! I love this kit, I have two that would enjoy it. Going to look for it around here.

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

