Letting Out the Artist Inside

The kids and I love arts and crafts, projects, and experiments, but they (the arts and crafts and such- not the kids) could be a little bit more of a pain in the tush to set up and take down than I often have the time or willingness to do.  Granted, I have everything organized into tubs and labeled, but hauling it all out, setting it up, cleaning it up, and putting it away again takes a lot of time!  Let’s not forget the items that require time to dry, cook, set or complete.  Those take up very valuable counter or table space.

I decided we needed a space just for the creativity and experimentation to flow.  Where could I designate to be our Creative Area?  In the garage!

We are very blessed to have an attached garage that is very accessible.  So, we started working.

Here is what we had to work with.

Yes, there is a table under there.   Somewhere.

I am oh so proud to say that we did NOT just shove everything in another area of the garage.  The kids and I went through every item, put some things away, tossed a few items, designated some for our upcoming yard sale, and organized everything else.

Here is our new Creative Area.  Ta dah!

This move has been such a great one!!  I cannot tell you how nice it is not to have to worry about the kids getting paint on the chairs or dining room table, not to have to clear off all of the school work from the table, to let things dry, to let the littles create while the big kids are doing their school work, and it doesn’t take forever to get everything out or put away.  YAY!

How about a shot of the kids enjoying their new space.

Having this space actually makes our school work time easier.  When a lesson calls for a project or experiment we have the ability to just pop out to our Creative Area and accomplish it.  It also gives the littles a place to work and be creative without disturbing the older kids.

Why, oh why, didn’t I think of this sooner?!?!  *grin*

I do have one question for you.  Do you have any art curriculum to recommend?  It is not practical to take them somewhere to take classes.  It is really expensive to have someone come to the house.  I would love for them to learn the basics of sketching, using pastels and painting.  Got any ideas?

All for God’s glory,

~Rhen

Want to check out a bunch of great bloggers sharing their homeschool ideas, day-to-day activities and more?  Pop over to Hip Homeschool Hop and see who all is linked up.  Why not link up yourself?  🙂

9 responses to “Letting Out the Artist Inside

  1. I love your Creative Area- it is fabulous! Stopping by from HHH!

  2. This is a wonderful idea! I often put off letting my small people do crafts because of the resulting mess, but if I made an area for it in the garage, that would be ideal.

    Following you from the Hip Homeschool Hop

  3. That looks like a great space. I love the idea of having a place for messy stuff. The only thing I don’t like about our homeschool space is that it’s carpeted. We’re using Artistic Pursuits and my kids really like it. It’s gotten me to get out water colors, pastels, etc. that I normally don’t think about.
    Stopping by from HHH.

  4. What a great idea!! Of course, here in Northern Maine we’d only be able to use ours for half the year 😉
    Here from HHH.

  5. ooh, Rhen, it looks fabulous! I would love to have something like that for the kids – if only the garage wasn’t already nearly totally full of boxes of stuff we can’t fit in this small house…. hmmmm…. I think I will have to be very ruthless at chucking out stuff with our next move, with an ‘art area’ in mind.

  6. The new creative space looks great! It will be nice to allow them to get messy and it not be in the middle of your living space.

    We love Artistic Pursuits art curriculum. I love art myself and we have used many, many different programs (some very expensive ones) and AP is the best IMO. It teaches and guides the children in the basics while not squelching their creativity by telling them to draw this line here and that line there. The children’s art still looks like CHILDREN’S art, but know the proper way to use many different tools and implement different techniques for different effects. *love*! I posted a full review a while ago http://raisingolives.com/2010/03/artistic-pursuits-review/

  7. Love this idea! I hope to get ours set up next week.

  8. Pingback: Move over school, I’ve got big plans | Are We There Yet?

  9. Pingback: Out with the old…literally | Yes, They Are All Mine

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

