Essentials!

There are several things we would all call essentials for homeschooling.  You know, items like:  curriculum, children, and a desire to homeschool, to name a few.

But, beyond that, there are different items we all find to be our “homeschooling essentials”.

One of my top on must-haves is my dry erase board.

Isn’t she beautiful?  Mr. Muscles did such a wonderful job!

 

During our move this past spring, I found out just how much I use, and need, my dry erase board!  Every day I found myself saying, “This would be so much easier to show you if I had my board!”.

I use it for our daily handwriting verse, math examples, diagraming sentences, Spanish lessons, daily lists, assignments, planning, and so much more.  See, almost as essential as breathing!

This baby was super easy, and inexpensive to make.

We purchased a 4’x8′ sheet of white board from the local home improvement store for around $12.00.  Hubs cut it down to 4’x5′ to fit it into the space we had.  I would have preferred it staying full size!

He made a frame out of 1″x2″ pieces of wood that he sanded smooth and routed off the edges.  He also made ledge on bottom.   He routed out a groove to hold my markers and eraser.   It was bought, put together and usable in one afternoon.

What would call your top homeschool essential?

For more homeschooling bloggers, posts and great ideas visit the Hip Homeschool Hop with The Homeschool Chick.

Don’t forget to leave your blog addy when you comment so I can return the visit!

All for His glory,

~Rhen

7 responses to “Essentials!

  1. I couldn’t live w/o my dry erase board either! Stopping by from Hip Homeschool Hop. Blessings to you!

  2. Wouldn’t be able to homeschool without my whiteboard!!! LOL! Hopped over from the Hop. Have a great day!

  3. Stopping by from the Hop. Looks like that is a nice big board – I am in the market for one now after ours broke over the holidays! (It had been around for quite awhile, though.)

  4. Oh how I love our white board. We use it for everything- I love how I don’t have to waste tons of paper on practice math problems or drawing a diagram for extra explanation. LOVE IT! don’t know what I would do with out it.

  5. I do not really use a white board but my kids do. They enjoy writing on it.

    Blessings in 2011,
    Amy @ Missional Mama

  6. I have 2 small dry erase boards and they are awesome! We use them often. Thanks for joining in the Hop!

  7. Each of the children have their own small dry-eraser board (which are color-coded to match each child). They use it daily for math along with other subjects.

    p.s.–I started a new blog today!! Hope you will stop by!

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

