I Heart…

Hooray!  It is Friday again, and I get to share with you, my dear readers, all of the things that have made my week better.

The Friday “I Heart” post helps me to take the time to really appreciate not only the big things, but also the little things that have made me smile, made me laugh, brought a moment of joy, or were just plain yummy.

This week “I Heart…”

♥Putting together small gifts for each of the children for Hanukkah.

♥Getting to talk to a dear friend from Georgia.  We have been through so much together.  My conversations with her always make me smile.

♥Enjoying a little Starbucks with my oldest as we strolled around Target.  She had the Java Chip, and I indulged with the Peppermint Mocha.  Yummilicious!

♥Four whole wonderful days with Mr. Muscles and the kids without having to go anywhere we didn’t want to.  Heaven on Earth.

♥Visiting my MIL for an afternoon.  I blew the kids’ minds when I told them she was born in 1924.  THAT was funny!

♥Playing dreidel with the kids.

♥Celebrating Mr. Muscles’ birthday.  The kids put a lot of effort into making cards and drawing pictures for him.  The littles sang their own version of Happy Birthday.  Too sweet!

♥The beginning of Hanukkah!

 

I want to share a few pictures with you of our first night of Hanukkah.

But first, no we are not Jewish.  We are Christians.  Why do we choose to celebrate Hanukkah?  Simply put, to honor and glorify God.

Each night our family gathers around the Hanukkiyah to light the candles, starting with the shammash, a Hebrew word meaning “servant”, that is set apart from the others.

Hanukkah is known as the Feast of Lights.  As Christians, the servant candle represents Christ, who came to serve and to spread the light of God’s word.   Christ was “set apart” and holy, yet he came to bring and be the light of God for humankind.  Each night we read a verse that talks about Christ being the light of the world, how He is the light that shines from within us, or how His word lights our path.

Hanukkah is also known as the Feast of Dedication.  As Christians, we should understand that we are the holy temple of God.  We house the Holy Spirit inside of us.  At this time of year it is really brought into focus that we need to dedicate ourselves to God because we are His holy temple.  We need to be respectful of how we treat, dress, and use His temple.  The verse from our second night was, “…do you not know that our body is the temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and you are not your own?  For you were bought at a price; therefore glorify Go in your body and your spirit, which are God’s.” 1 Cor. 6:19-20.

I love how much this time focuses our hearts and family on God.  It has been such a pleasure and a blessing.

We do not give large gifts at Hanukkah.  Instead, each night the children receive a small token.  The first night they each exchange gifts with the person whose name they drew a  few weeks earlier.  Mr. Muscles and I then give them gifts for the other seven nights.  The second night was a small bag of chocolate and other goodies.  Tonight will be arts and crafts projects that are along each of their interests.

Here is our Hanukkiyah.

And here are a couple of pictures of the game of dreidel.

What do you “heart” from this week?  What brought you joy?  What made you smile?

Many, many things I hope!

I am hosting a Handmade Goat Milk Soap giveaway where the winner will not only receive, but they will also get to share with someone!  Click HERE to find out more and to enter.

My life through Christ,

~Rhen

3 responses to “I Heart…

  1. I was wondering if you were Jewish (not that it matters).
    What a great way to honor the Lord.

    Sounds like a great week.

    • No, we are not Jewish. 🙂 That is often a question people have. We simply observe the Lord’s feasts to glorify God, to bring Him more into our lives, and to walk closer with Christ. It has been such a blessing for our family.
      Not to mention, it is a lot of fun!

  2. Thanks for this insight! I love reading your blog 🙂

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

