The Tree That Grows In Our Dining Room

Personally, I don’t think you can teach children to be thankful without guiding them in understanding what being thankful means and how to focus on those blessings in our lives that give us cause to be thankful.

As we approach the holiday of Thanksgiving, we tend to reflect more on God’s blessings.  If only we did this all year long!

To help our children see just how much we have to be thankful for we created our annual Tree of Thankfulness.

You need only a few things:  a blank, white (or colorful) sheet of poster board, some paper, Autumn-colored leaves, a brown marker, pencils and tape.

On the poster board take your brown marker and draw a barren deciduous tree.  (This is an awesome moment to review what barren means and what happens to deciduous trees in the Fall)  🙂

Here is mine:  No laughing!

In addition to drawing the barren tree, I also wrote Ephesians 5:20 at the top of the poster.

I use tape to attach the poster board to the wall.  You can use tacky tape or anything that will keep your walls nice.

Here is where the children, paper Autumn colored leaves and pencils come in.

Every day before Thanksgiving each child writes something they are thankful for on a leaf, and we attach to the tree.  You can do this starting just a few days before Thanksgiving or even weeks.  The longer you do this the harder it gets.  It really makes the children, and myself, examine ALL of our blessings.

This is what the tree looks like after the first day.

When Thanksgiving arrives, the tree and the ground around it will be full of leaves!

We always have a fun time creating our tree and realizing just how blessed we are.  As a mom, I think what I enjoy the most is watching the children count their blessings.  Good moments!!

I am entering this post at The Hip Homeschool Hop @The Homeschool Chick’s blog.  This is my first time joining the fun.  I am hoping to find some great homeschool bloggers and a few great ideas to “borrow”.  Click on over and check it out!

I would also like to invite you to “Like” Yes, They Are All Mine on Facebook.

Have a blessed day,

~Rhen

9 responses to “The Tree That Grows In Our Dining Room

  1. What a great idea!! I love this! Stopping by from Hip Homeschool Hop! 🙂 I love the name of your blog! 🙂
    Jessica

  2. Lovely idea. I find that after prayers at night, it helps for each person to name three things they are thankful for from the day. This keeps the spirit of thanksgiving going all year! 🙂

  3. This is a great idea.

    I had been considering doing this with a cornucopia basket, but haven’t been able to find one.

    We may do trees instead.

    Here from HHH!

  4. Love this craft. I think I will print it out & have my kids make one too. What a great idea. So happy to have found you through the Hop today.

  5. Hi! What a great idea! I am sure it will look beautiful by Thanksgiving Day and what a great way to be grateful. I stopped by after you hopped over to my blog today. Have a great week!

  6. What a lovely idea! I can’t wait to see the final piece!

  7. We did this with “feathers” that we put on a Turkey. I made a brown gourd shape with eyes and an orange triangle for a beak and funny looking feet. We tucked the construction paper feathers around the turkey’s head as the month went on. We had a huge, fan shaped, semicircle stacked several “deep” (placed so we could read what was on each feather) by the time we were done!

    @Kimberly, at night, we do our “Thankfuls and Prayers,” too 🙂

  8. This is WONDERFUL! Another bookmarked! 🙂

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

