I have been experimenting again!

You may already know I love to experiment with my soaps, but Mr. Muscles recently inspired me to try something a little different.

He has been using my soaps to wash his hair with fantastic results.  Yay!  He has a very oily scalp and a lot of shampoos just didn’t do a very good job.  After seeing how well it worked on him several of us tried it.  Sadly, my hair, and that of a few of our kids, is too thick to use just a bar.

That was when I was inspired!  I took one cup of my soap shavings (I hand trim all of the bars and save the shavings) and 1 cup of water, mixed them in a small pot and heated it up.  When it was all thoroughly melted I gave it time to cool.

After the mixture was completely cooled I put it into two shampoo bottles.  It filled one up and halfway filled the other.

I have used it twice now and love it!  It cleans my thick hair beautifully!  EXCITING!

Something I will adjust next time is the water to soap shavings ratio.  It came out a little thick.  It comes out of the bottle fine, but I would like it to flow a little better.

I am pumped about this!  Am I being a little goofy?  I just can’t help it.  LOL  I feel like have conquered something.  Woo Hoo!

What I love is that this frugal, and my soaps contain no fragrance oils, dyes, or preservatives which means it is healthy, too!

So, making my own shampoo and it actually working fantastically works for me!    Does this count as a recipe?  I am sure it does!!!

You can find many great tips at We Are That Family.

Always in God’s Hands,

~Rhen

2 responses to “I have been experimenting again!

  1. What a great tip! making soap next week and was wondering what to do with the shavings. Will tweak the ratio myself!
    Blessings!
    LIB
    http://bit.ly/aMpQKs

  2. I just started making my own soap; I’m going to have to try this! Thanks for the idea!

    Another all natural way to wash hair here:
    http://simplemom.net/how-to-clean-your-hair-without-shampoo/
    I’ve been doing this successfully for a while – just using a little of the bar soap near my scalp when I need it (like after a long hike or sticky summer day).

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

