Whittling

If you are anything like me, then you are picturing Sheriff Andy Taylor sitting on his front porch whittling a stick while Aunt Bea relaxes in a rocking chair all in the quaint little town of Mayberry.

No?  Hmm.  Well, picture it will you so I am not the only.  Thank you.

My form of whittling involves yard sales, donations and bon fires.  Yes, BON FIRES.  *grin*  The pyro in me just has to have a little fun from time to time.

Mr. Muscles, the tribe and I are currently renting a house while biding our time ever so patiently waiting on God.  We know this house and our time in it is temporary, and we are using it to drastically whittle down the amount of stuff that we have.

How?

•I had to start out by being realistic.  I know a family that is growing to 10 in number will always need more beds, clothing, and basic “stuff” than a family of 4 or 5.

•We are homeschoolers.  Curriculum can take up a good amount of space, and that can easily grow to be way too much.  *ahem*

•I also know that Baby Boy (child #8 due in Feb.) will be the last for us.  *gasp*  I know!  That is a post in and of itself that I am working.  Stay tuned.

Those 3 factors have been my major guidance in deciding the fate of each item that crosses my path.  This is where Flylady has been huge for me.  I purposed and have been going through at least one box a day, most days, and I am making some great progress.  Choosing just 1 or 2 boxes (or tubs) and maybe a “hot spot” keeps me from feeling overwhelmed by the sheer size of the job.  It is a bohemeth job, too!  LOL

Last week the whole fam took on the enormous job of changing out the  kids’ clothing.

OH MY GOODNESS.

Here is the pile of the clothing tubs we went through this time minus the shoes, coats, jacket and winter gear tubs.

All 7 of the children not only needed to be changed out from warm to cold weather, but they also needed size changes.  I started with Ms. Dimples (18 mo) and moved her from 12 month to 18 month.  Ms. Giggles (3) moved from 3t to 4t.  Ms. Independent (5) moved from 4t to 5t (though they are just a little too big).  Ms. Lovebug (8) finally moved from a 6 to a 7.  Ms. Firecracker (10) from 7 to 8.  Both Young Man (11) and Ms. Serious (13) have moved up from 12 to 14.

I tried desperately to find all of the clothing they were leaving, wash them, sort them and get them into the proper tubs.  I realize that I will still be playing hide and seek with the clothing for the next couple months as they slowly, but surely, come out of hiding.

The littles’ closet spaces are organized though.  Yay!

Here are a couple of “after” pics of the littles’ clothing.

Does this mean I am done with the whole clothing thing?  Nope!  I still have my own and Mr. Muscles’ clothes to do.  LOL

Going to put my feet up first.

How about you?

All for God’s glory,

~Rhen

4 responses to “Whittling

  1. That is a lot of clothes, I recently did this with my one little. It is a tough job.

  2. Oooo, can’t wait to hear about how you decided Mr. #8 is completing your fam. I’m struggling with the decision over here.

  3. I know that I need to get this job done. Being not quite three weeks post-c-section, I know I won’t be doing much for another few weeks, but it’s getting to me. It needs to be done. Our house is slowly but surely becoming more organized, but I had to take a 6-wk break in between to birth and heal. Then onward we shall go. Don’t you love the invention that is storage bins???

  4. Oh I hear you about finding articles of clothing for months afterward and I only have 2! 🙂 And my pile of outgrown clothes that I’m saving takes up half the wall in the garage… well, I suppose half of it is baby “gear” and things like cloth diapers, but still, I don’t know where we kept it all in our apartment before we moved!

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

