It’s FOO time!

I have decided to use this post to share with you something I absolutely love to eat.  Foo.  Please, read on!


What do you do when you are blessed with a GIANT bag of homegrown pears?  Not commercial.  HOMEGROWN pears!  You make FOO, of course.

What a minute. You don’t know what FOO is?

Let me introduce you to FOO. It will be a quick introduction.

My mom spent one fall canning away. She canned almost every fruit or vegetable she could get her hands on. She, of course, shared those with us. One of them was labeled FOO.  We didn’t know what it was, but we did know it was de-li-cious on biscuits and toast.  It didn’t take us long to go through the 2 jars.  My sister and I both asked Mom if she had any more of that FOO.  She was completely confused.  She had no idea what FOO was either.  A little bit of detective work helped.  LOL  FOO is pear butter.  So why FOO?  The “F”  stood for Fall, and the “OO” stood for 2000.  It was simply her labeling that it was canned in the Fall of 2000.  Needless to say, it is now henceforth FOO.

Now, onto the next generation of FOO.

We start by washing and cutting up the pears into chunks.

Next, we boil the pears.  Put about an inch of water in the bottom of your pot.  Fill it with pears, put the lid on, and turn it on high heat until it comes to a good boil.  Once it is boiling we turn the heat down just a bit.  It still needs to be at a light boil.  Make sure your pot has a thick bottom!

Our next step is to separate the skins and hard parts from the soft parts we want!  I use this hand turned bad boy.  Hubs is researching an attachment for my KitchenAid.  That would be a great find!

As we turn the handle we get yummy pear sauce in the bowl.

We can then can the pear sauce as is.  It is very good, and you eat it just like you do applesauce.

But, if we want pear butter we then use the pear sauce to make pear butter in a crock pot.  I cannot describe to you just how wonderful our home smelled when I woke up the next morning.   It was a beautiful Fall scent that just filled every room.  Here is what the pear butter looks like as it is cooking.

After the pear sauce has cooked and simmered into pear butter, it is time to can the pear butter.

I personally use a pressure canner and have had great results every time.

At the end of this process you get …………… FOO!

My pear butter and pear sauce is now all labeled and put away in the cabinets.  I am looking forward to opening a jar of FOO and generously spreading that wonderful stuff  all over a fresh, hot biscuit.  I can already taste it!

For the exact recipe for pear butter and more great canning recipes you can visit Pick Your Own.  Tons of great information to share!!

There is just nothing like eating food you have canned yourself.  I love knowing exactly where it comes from, how it was grown and what is in it.

We will be making a trip to a pumpkin farm here very soon.  I cannot wait to discover what else I will find to can this Fall!

Now, if you will please excuse me.  I hear some FOO calling my name.  🙂


Abiding in God,

~Rhen

For more great TILT fun head over to The Diaper Diaries and check ’em out!

6 responses to “It’s FOO time!

  1. That looks so yummy! I will have to try that next year. We had a hard spring and most of the trees around here produced very little fruit so we didn’t get many pears this year. I only managed to get 1 1/2 canners of pears when I normally do 5-6! Homegrown is definitely way better than store bought!

  2. What a fun story for how you got the name! And I just discovered Pick Your Own… love that site! I have not however been brave enough to try a pressure canner although some friends have one… so far lemon juice in my tomato sauce will hopefully work!

    • yestheyareallmine

      I was a little apprehensive about using it at first as well. But, it was easy peasy! It was also quick, clean, and much more secure than I thought it would be. Be brave! Jump in! LOL

  3. Oh, man, now I’m craving biscuits!

    We had some cases of pears this year and just ate them all, LOL! Next year I really hope to preserve some of the pear goodness!

  4. Pingback: Laura Threatened Me About This! | Yes, They Are All Mine

  5. Pingback: Menu Planning | Yes, They Are All Mine

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

