Thirsty Thursday- Draw, Write, Now!

     Yay!  I am so glad to see Thirsty Thursday back.  I really enjoy reading everyone’s posts about homeschooling in their homes. 

     I want to share with you a wonderful book series our family has been using for a couple of years now.  It is called the Draw, Write, Now series by Marie Hablitzel and Kim Stitzer. 

     I already have an awesome handwriting curriculum, but I was looking for something to practice handwriting while learning something new and interesting.   These books have it!   My 7-year-old is currently working through book 2 which includes:  Christopher Columbus, Autumn Harvest and The Weather. 

     While working on proper letter heighth, letter and word spacing and neatness, they also learn interesting facts about different topics.   After they have written the fun facts the series then teaches them to draw an object that has to do with the topic they are writing about.  It shows them step by step how to draw the object, then it gives them the freedom to create their own background to the picture, and color it all in.  Such a fun way of reinforcing the facts they were writing!

     I found the Mead Primary Journal at a local school supply store, and it is a perfect fit!    The top part of the page is blank for drawing, and the bottom part is lined for writing. 

     Not only is Ms. Lovebug (7) bettering her handwriting, she is learning new things to share with her daddy when he gets home, and she is getting better and better at drawing. 

     Draw. Write. Now. has been a wonderful addition to our curriculum that the kids look forward to doing.  Even after a full day of learning she will ask to do a page or two from her Draw. Write. Now. book.

     I own one book of my own that I bought brand new at a flea market.  The rest of them we get from our local library.  There are eight books in the series.   I encourage to stop by your library and check one out.  

     Got something about learning to share?   Join in the Thirsty Thursday fun! 

God bless,

~Rhen

5 responses to “Thirsty Thursday- Draw, Write, Now!

  1. I’ve never used these before, and honestly, when I’ve thumbed through them, nothing really grabbed my attention, but I’ve heard so many people rave about them, I guess I need to do a little more than just thumb through them. I’ll check one out the next time I’m at the library! 🙂

  2. those sound awesome… i’m so excited that i might be able to get them at the library. can’t wait to check. Thanks for the tip on those mead notebooks, too! I didn’t know they made those. I would love those,

  3. We have one, and my little girls have loved going through it and drawing the pictures. I just let them do it whenever and however they chose. I’m not sure it’s worth the full price, though.

    Annie Kate

  4. I love these books too. We used one when studying Native Americans and also the Pilgrims and the children were able to draw everything we were learning. My daughter could follow the instructions and make beautiful drawings at age 5! I have two and I think I’ll probably be buying one a year at least. I hope they make more historical volumes (they seem to be stuck on animals at the moment :^)

  5. Hi,

    Thank you for stopping by our blog, I can’t where I can follow you back. Let me know and I will follow back.

    Thats awesome that your daughter does gymnastics to, D Man has been completing since he was 4 to, We are in Georgia at Region 8 Men’s Gymnastics Meet tomorrow. I don’t like watching him, it makes me nervous, do you feel this way?

    Also We LOVE Draw Write Now and the Primary Notebook. We use these for every subject. I like how it has handwriting and drawing all in one. You can check out our drawing on my blog.

    Have a blessed weekend:)
    April

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

