I need a bigger shoe!

     I often feel like that old lady who lived in a shoe who had some many kids she didn’t know what to do. 

    It is not the number of kids.  It is the size of the house.  I need a shoe horn to squeeze us all in here!   

     Seven children, two adults and one dog in 1500 square feet is not an easy feat.  LOL  Don’t get me wrong.  I am truly grateful for having a house, but a few more feet would be wonderful. 

     While it is not easy, I am finding that God is teaching me many things during our time here.   Things like:  organization, simplifying, making the most of space, multitasking, creative storage and the “p” word- patience.  ;O)

     People look at the size of our brood and often assume I already had all of these qualities.  Nope.   Each came out of necessity and are ever-improving.

     As a matter of fact, organizing has become something of an obsession.   Crazy!   Not me.  I am not crazy.  The whole being-obsessed-with-organizing thing is. 

     Oh, the satisfaction of taking a jumbled up mess of stuff and creating order out of it.  The thrill of being able to find something easily!   The pride and joy I feel when one of my littles comes running out of her room to share with me the fact that she just organized all of her doll toys. 

     Brings  a tear to the eye, doesn’t it? 

     Now, if only I could get Ms. Serious (12) and Ms. Firecracker (9) to organize their mess.   {{Insert huge, exasperated eye roll here!}}

     When you only have so much room for stuff you have to prioritize.  You have to look at what is going to do the best for you, what is taking up way too much time or space and not being productive, what is sitting around gathering dust and what is used on a regular basis. 

     It feels great to simplify, streamline and purge.  I did not realize just how burdened down by material things I was. 

     All of these improvements God has made gives me more time to spend with Mr. Muscles, more time with the kids, more time to get out there with my camera and to write. 

     I have to admit that I do love the changes God has made in me.

     I did not expect such changes to take place these past 3 years.  I didn’t even know I needed to do it. 

     He never ceases to amaze.  Refining is never easy to go through, but the beauty He creates in us through it is wonderful!

     There are big changes coming down the pipeline for our family, and I know that God has been preparing me for it. 

     I am ready for this new adventure.

     Soon, I will fill you in more.  😉

     God bless,

           ~Rhen

PS- No, I am not pregnant.  LOL!

4 responses to “I need a bigger shoe!

  1. Oh thank you for clearing that up with that little PS I wasn’t ready for another one 😉

    Can’t wait to read more!

  2. Hey! I just happen to notice your blog name over at the Mom Bloggers Club and had to come over. I come from a family of 8 kids and my husband from a family of 9. So, “yes, they are all mine” is the neverending response I remeber coming out of my mom’s mouth.
    LOL, we only have 4 kids (scrunched between the ages from 5 years to 1 year) and even WE get that question. Which I find silly really.
    Anyway, Love your blog!

    ~Serene

  3. I feel your pain. Though I dont have as many children as you, we are sharing our 1300 square foot home with my sister in law and her son. My three children (5,3 &1) share a bedroom & she has chosen to have him sleep in her room with her. 3 adults, 4 kids, hardwood/tile floors makes for a tad bit of chaos sometimes! Iike dropping by every now and then to see how you “manage”. It makes this homemaker feel like there’s a kindred spirit out there somewhere!
    Prayers,
    Amy

  4. Hi, this is the first time I’ve come across your blog. It’s great! I wanted to comment on this subject.
    We have lived in 3 homes; a tiny 800 sq. ft., a 1200 sq. ft., and now a 2800 sq. ft. (finished basement with 2nd kitchen and 3rd bath). And let me tell you, I am OVERWHELMED with all this room! I actually find myself missing a smaller space. There is SO much to clean that it never feels “done”. And guess what happens when you have a lot of storage space? IT FILLS UP!! I don’t even know where to start, since it’s not all my stuff (husband’s, kids’). I know I should feel blessed and rise to the challengeof dejunking and keeping it all clean, but it’s hard. Oh, to just have one bathroom (and one kitchen) to keep clean!

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

