What do you mean no cooking?!

     It is fast approaching Thanksgiving, and I am really looking forward to it.  Why?  Because I do not have to cook!

     I know what you are thinking.  “Rhen, how can you get away with no cooking when you have 7  kids and hubs there?”. 

     Easy.  My mom hosts Thanksgiving at her house every year.  She is such a huge blessing.  All I have to do is try to control myself around all the pies until it is their turn to be devoured.  That’s it.  Isn’t my mom amazing?! 

     Usually we have Thanksgiving lunch with Mr. Muscles’ family, and we have Thanksgiving dinner with my family.  This year Mr. Muscles’ family is not planning anything together.  We will make sure we take the time to visit everyone while we are there though.  We have a good time with his family.  🙂

     There is something else, beyond the food, that is associated with Thanksgiving.  No, I am not talking about the football games (even though I will be watching, of course).  I am referring to the dreaded Black Friday. 

     I know there are some great deals to be had.  I know there is money to be saved.  But you Black Friday people scare me! 

     Mr. Muscles did Black Friday shopping once.  It was the year of the Furby.  The war stories he brought back with him still give me nightmares.   When the poor clerk brought out the crate he had to duck and cover.  Grown women pulling hair, punching, pushing, using obscenities and trampling each other.  Oh my word!  Look where that toy is now.  Toy oblivion. 

     I shudder to think about it.  *shudder* 

     I will be spending that day on the couch, snuggling with Mr. Muscles, eating leftovers and watching the Alabama/ Auburn game.  Ahhhh.  Bliss!

     So, do you do Black Friday? 

     God bless,

                   ~Rhen

2 responses to “What do you mean no cooking?!

  1. I only “do” Black Friday by meeting my husband at 10am to see if there are any reasonable sales still on! And that’s only because his family had a tradition of going out (at like 7) for the free coffee and donuts! So no, we don’t really do it!

  2. Hey everybody, it’s Thanksgiving Day! I’m enjoying my extra day off, and I am planning to doing something fun that’ll probably involve a bike ride and seeing something new in Bridgeport I haven’t seen yet.
    You write new post at Thanksgiving?

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

