In Honor of World Breastfeeding Week

     I have been blessed to breastfeed all 7 of my children.  I had an awesome, supportive family when I first started breastfeeding my oldest.  That made all the difference in the world. 

     Here is Ms. Dimples at 8 weeks old (she is now 11 weeks) while nursing:

     Here I am nursing Ms. Dimples (then 5 weeks old) at the Milwaukee Zoo on vacation. 

     I would offer advice to anyone who is considering breastfeeding or has recently started. 

♣  Relax.  Seriously.  Take a breath and relax.  Baby can feel your frustration and stress.  That just makes your baby frustrated and tense.  

♣  Talk in a soothing voice.  This is good for both of you.  

♣  Find support with another breastfeeding mom.  It can be easier when you have someone along for the ride with you. 

♣  Realize it can take time for both of you to figure out what to do and how to do it.

♣  If baby is having a hard time latching on you can start them out sucking on your finger then switching them to your breast.  Sucking on your finger for a moment will calm them and get the suckling reflex going stronger. 

Most of all, after a little time it will get easier and become an absolutely wonderful experience.  One that you will always remember.

Fully Relying on God,

~Rhen

4 responses to “In Honor of World Breastfeeding Week

  1. Thanks for the tips!!! I am having my baby by c-section on Sept. 17th. I do plan on breastfeeding. To be honest, I am nervous.
    My oldest, who will be 16 next week, I breastfeed for 10 days. I had an awful support system in place. While hubby supported my efforts, we lived away from family at the time and the family that came to stay with us to help was 100% against bf. I was young (and stupid) and should have pushed through. But sad to say I didn’t.

    With my second son (who’s 10 1/2) I didn’t even try in fear of failing like the first time. By the time I regretted that decision it was too late and my milk had dried up. I always said if I gave birth again I would definitely do it.

    So here I am. I am going to give it my all. I am older (and wiser) and I am determined that I am going to succeed. This time my attitude about other is “too bad for them” if they don’t like that I am doing it.

    Seeing the picture with you at the zoo is inspiring because I know you had a c-section. Any advice for bf after a section?

    Thanks : )

  2. thank you for the support number 6 is on his way in about 7 weeks and I’m getting really excited! I”ve breastfed 3 of my 5 kids so far. I didn’t breastfeed my first too because I was so young and didn’t have a support system. It’s wonderful for us breastfeeding moms to have eachother for encouragement!

    Thanks again,

    heather

  3. Is that a Breast Friend you are sporting there? I love mine! I love that you’re in public wearing yours! Nicely done!
    ~By Rhen- Yes it is! I love it too. So handy.

  4. Gorgeous pictures! I loved My Breast Friend too! It’s the one baby item I have yet to relinquish… because I just miss nursing so much! It never even occurred to me to wear it out and about.. but DUH. I wish it had. Brilliant!

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

