I am drowning in baby sling!

     Thank goodness you are here! 

     Look at what is tackling my butt to the ground.

     I received this sling from a friend, and I have no idea what to do with it.  It did not have any instructions, and I have tried every way I can think of to make this work, but I always end up with yards of material left over.  What in the heck do I do with this thing??????   Any ideas?  I would be truly thankful to know how to use this bad boy. 

Shalom,

~Rhen

9 responses to “I am drowning in baby sling!

  1. It looks like it may be about the size of a Moby wrap. Have you seen those? The Moby doesn’t have the fastener at the end, but I suppose you could use that rather than tying it.

    Here is a Moby wrapping video: http://www.babyslingdemonstrations.com/Demo/p/BS1001;jsessionid=7F5B1F6F2E7DC054CFA94FB0963091DB.app2-delorean

    I think it would work. We LOVE the Moby for smaller babies (under a year or so). Hope that helps!

    Kimberly – Momma of 9

  2. You are the proud owner of a ring sling. Maya Wrap is one of the brands. They have some good info on how to wear it. This was my favorite sling once the dudes were old enough to support their upper bodies. The best trick though is to find someone you know that has a ring sling and have them show you how to do it.

    Good luck!
    Trisha

    http://mayawrap.com/use-and-care.php

  3. And yes, you will end up with a good amount of fabric left over. On chilly days I would use this as an extra cover for the munchkin. Or a cover during breastfeeding. Or a repelling rope during a mountain hike:)

  4. Ooooh!!! Lucky you!!! I did a post about how to make your own ring sling. There are some links there that could probably give you some help with this ring sling- especially the one to Hobo Mama’s site- she shows you how to wear a bigger baby, past the newborn stage. Good luck! http://suddenlystayathome.blogspot.com/2009/06/wearing-your-baby.html

  5. I think you wrap yourself up in this and lay down and have a rest on the couch while your baby is napping. Maybe?

  6. Hi, I stumbled into your blog to while searching for another posting, but this caught my eye. You have not got the world’s longest ring sling 😉 but what appears to be an Ultimate Baby Wrap by Parents of Invention. There are video instructions here: http://www.parentsofinvention.com/index.htm or you can visit the forums at http://www.thebabywearer.com/ and the ladies there (plus a few dads) would love to tell you how to use it. Pretty much, it’s the same as the Moby Wrap, but with a set of rings you can use to fasten (kind of like one of those old-school belts you thread through the rings, and then back between them and through one ring.) Or search youtube for Ultimate Baby Wrap. Good luck, I think you will find it useful with just a little instruction & practice.

  7. I hope those other links helped because otherwise I would say it’s waaaaay to long to be a normal ring sling! 😉

  8. I just bought this VERY one today at a used childrens clothing shop. I got it home and the fabric just kept coming out of the bag. I tried it a few ways. with baby, my husband continued to laugh at me, then tried to help. Well, it didn’t help so much! I have looked and looked and still can’t find this one exactly. Have you figured out who makes it. There are some like it, but I would really like to know the brand of it, and how much they cost etc. Curious if I got a good deal too ya know. I think it will be okay once I get the hang of the 50 yards of fabric!

  9. We had moby wraps and one like the one you have here. It will work like a moby wrap. I just wrote a hub page about baby wearing and included a moby wrap how to video. You can check that out here:
    http://hubpages.com/hub/Baby-Wearing
    The gal who made the video has a bunch of different ones that also might help.

    It is a little weird at first but I assure you it is great once you get used to it. The photo in my Hubpage is of my husband wearing the exact same kind of wrap you have and he and I wore it all the time!!!

    Good Luck!! If you have any other questions please feel free to contact me directly. I was a wrap expert in my day!

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

