Saying goodbye to an old friend.

     At a time when we are excitedly and happily looking forward to the birth of Baby Girl (still), we are also having to mourn the loss of a very dear, faithful, old friend.

This is our “first born”, Morpheus.

     While he was 13 1/2 years old, he did not die of old age.  The Fed Ex delivery man ran over him and then left without even telling us.  I am serious!  I contacted Fed Ex and told them about it.  The driver claims that Morpheus was already injured when he came to deliver a package.  Bull! 

     Let me give you a few bits of info.  We live at the end of a dirt road.  The end of it.  If someone is here, they are here for a purpose.  We have a long driveway.  Morpheus was more than 3/4’s up the driveway.  Not in the road.  Morpheus was fine 15 minutes before when we let him outside.   When he was run over it broke his back and crushed his backend.  He could not move after that.  He was not hit at the road and then able to drag himself several hundred feet.   The driver ran over him and then went around him on the way back down.  He never bothered to tell us. 

     It has been very hard on every member of our family, but Mr. Muscles was absolutely devasted.  He took pictures to show what happened.  He then buried Morpheus.  I couldn’t be out there.  What could I possibly do at 41 weeks pregnant other than cry?  It was also important for Mr. Muscles.  Burying Morpheus helped him to work through what happened. 

     We got Morpheus as an abandoned puppy 13 1/2 years ago.  He was our first “child”.  He was so smart.  Within two weeks he was housebroken and voice trained.  Within another 2 weeks he was trained using hand signals.  He had excellent house manners and was the pillow, playtoy and favorite “person” for every one of our children.  He was soft, snuggly, protective, gentle and I cannot tell you how much he will be missed. 

Fully Relying on God,

~Rhen

11 responses to “Saying goodbye to an old friend.

  1. Oh how sad!! I hope someone at FedEx finds a heart and attempts to make this right for your family. Even though they cannot replace your poor dog!

  2. I am so sorry for the loss of your dog! It’s so hard to lose a pet that is such a member of your family.

  3. I’m so sorry for your lost. It is so incredibly hard to lose an animal. I hope you get some justice from FedEx.

  4. That is soooo terrible!!! How can anyone do that?? I am sooo sorry for you and your family!!

  5. I am so sorry – and the injustice just makes it worse! I hope someone at least has the conscience to come back and make it right.

  6. Oh I’m sorry. I know it just sucks to lose a pet like that, even if they are old. 😦 No, they can’t replace your dog, but a sincere apology might help. Sheesh.

  7. Oh I am so so so sorry. That Fed Ex driver should be fired!!!How truly awful

  8. What a sad sad story!! I am so sorry for your loss……believe me

    I love animals and fully believe they become a part of our

    families….

    I had a similar thing happen with the Ga Power guy who ran

    over my Shih Tzu in my driveway as well……. I would DEMAND

    some sort of discipline for the Fed Ex driver, that is absolutely

    unexcusable behavior.

  9. If my “first born” left this world in such a heartless manner I would have been devastated. 😦 I’m so sorry for your loss. I hope you get some sort of compensation from FedEx, although it won’t bring him back it will at least make them take responsibility for what happened.

  10. Sorry this is so late, but I am so sorry about your dog. They are just a part of the family and what an awful thing to happen to him. It makes me so sad when people don’t treat animals fairly. I wish the Fedex driver would have owned up to his mistakesor acted accordingly to make things right (or at least a little better) for your family. I hope by now your family is healing and enjoying the new addition to your family.
    Take Care

  11. I am so sorry to hear about your loss. We have a two year old Toy Fox Terrier that we love so much and we would be devistated if something happened to him. I know that the Fed-Ex man did not mean to run over your dog…he probably did not see him. But once he realized that he had he should have told you and let his boss know. He should be punished/reprimanded in some way by Fed-Ex for his insensitive action of just driving away. I do not understand how unloving and uncaring some people can be. I hope that your family gets a new pet to love and care for in the near future.

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

