WFMW- Ear Candles

     My WFMW this week is one that internet and RL people ask me about a lot.  Ear candles.  I love ear candles!! 

     My oldest produces a lot of earwax, and that caused her to have poor hearing and ear infections.  Years ago someone turned me on to ear candles and they have been a huge blessing ever since. 

     If one of the children has an earache I will use the ear candles on them.  We had another gymnastics family whose daughter was suddenly unable to keep her balance.  She kept falling off of the beam and was very unsure on the floor and vault.  I took a pair of ear candles by for her to try.  The young lady had so much ear wax that it was throwing her equilibrium off!

     Here is me doing Ms. Serious’ (12) ears today.

Here are the ear candles.   They are available at any good health food store.  I pay $1.89 for each.

Cut a hole into a paper plate to put the ear candle into.  I suggest the large paper plates.

I have lit the top and inserted the candle into her ear.  The candle just sits into the opening of the ear canal.  They can hear some of the popping as the candle burns down.  If there is smoke coming from around the bottom of the candle you need to insert it a little further. 

As the candle burns down, I trim off the burnt part and put it into a glass of water. 

Here is what it pulls out.  There is ear wax all the way up with the bulk of it at the bottom.  I am always amazed!  LOL

     I have to admit that I was a little intimidated the first time I used ear candles, but I quickly got over it when I saw how easy it was and how well they worked. 

     So, ear candles for stuffy ears, wet ears, ear aches or lots of earwax, that is what works for me!

For more great WFMW tips pop over to We Are That Family.

Leaning on God,

~Rhen

12 responses to “WFMW- Ear Candles

  1. I’ve wanted to get one of those, ’cause… I often wonder if I just have a lot of wax in my ears; my husband gets frustrated when I can’t hear him. I just think he mumbles a lot…lol.

  2. I have always wondered about these, but was afraid to try because it involves fire. The pics help tremendously.

    Thanks!

  3. I’ve always wanted to give those a try just to see how much stuff will turn up at the end.

  4. That is one of the nastiest but most fascinating things I’ve ever read. When I saw your title I was afraid you made candles out of ear wax a la Shrek. In comparison to what I was imagining this isn’t so gross after all. I’m totally fascinated.

  5. I’ve long dealt with too much ear wax. My mom used to take me to the doctor to have his dig out the wax. Now when my ears get plugged, I use the ear candles and they have been a huge help. The only caution I would give is that if you use them too often, your inner ears get itchy, which feels worse than having plugged ears! =)

  6. That is so cool! I’ve always wondered what that looked like and how it was done.
    I found your blog through the feature on 5 Minutes for Mom. What a great site!

  7. My husband loves them. I don’t have many ear problems, but we use them on him a lot. We pay $3-$4 a piece for them. I haven’t been brave enought to use them on my son, yet. He’s too wiggly.

  8. Found you through 5MFM’s, and was so thrilled to do so. Fellow home school, homesteading mom of five. Can’t wait to browse your archives. 🙂

  9. I love it. I have done it to all of my children and had it done to myself many times. It makes a huge difference and with a son who has very hard ear wax and me who has Meniere’s disease it helps so much on those time when things get clogged up.

    The residue is vile, however intriguing. I usually wrap the paper plate in tin foil just to be on the safe side.

    Thanks for doing this! So many people are terrified of it they just avoid it!

  10. I’ve never even heard of these, but one of my boys has the goopiest ears. When I eventually clean out the wax with q-tips, which I really despise doing, it takes about four for each ear. The wax doesn’t really mess up his balance or clog up the ear, it’s just thick and doesn’t clean out like the rest of ours after a normal shower. All that said, I’m going to check this out. That last picture though is a little icky…kind of comparative to the ped egg thing. 🙂

  11. Wow, I’ve never heard of these. But, I remember going to the doctor’s office as a child and after he cleaned my ears I could hear the birds. I said I’d never let my ears accumulate to that point again…but that meant putting something smaller than my elbow in my ear! I have the Meniere problem too. I want to try ear candles next time! I’m so glad this wasn’t about Shrek too…

  12. I do this for my husband. He is the earwax king! Unfortunately, we have two princes with the same problem. I haven’t tried it on my younger son, however, because he has permanent hearing loss in both ears and wears hearing aids. I haven’t checked with our doctor yet to see if it would be safe for me to do it to him. A lot of salons offer this as a service, but I do what you do and just buy them at a health food store. They’re not that expensive.

    Blessings to you and your soon-to-be new little one!

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

