WFMW- Flea bitten varmits!

     I know fleas and ticks do not go away during winter, but they do come out in force when the weather warms up.  Now that the weather is warming up that means that the wave of pests is starting to build.  

     I am not one who likes the drops that you can put on your animals.  The neurological and digestive side effects are just not worth it.  I also do not want to use powders and such.  My kids hug and love on the dogs a lot, and I do not want them accidentally ingesting that poison.  So what is a girl to do to keep fleas and ticks at bay and kill any ones that are around?

     Lemons.  Yes, lemons!  You can peel a lemon, and then boil that peel in 2-3 cups of water.  When the water has cooled take a sponge and blot the lemon water on the animals fur.  It will kill fleas and ticks that are there and repel ones that are trying to hitch a ride. 

     Now, I cannot take credit for this gem.  It comes from one of our best self-proclaimed science geeks.  The one and the only Bill Nye the Science Guy!   You know he is the coolest science geek out there!

     Got a great tip to pass on?  Head over to We Are That Family and link up!

Leaning on God,

~Rhen

14 responses to “WFMW- Flea bitten varmits!

  1. Great tip!!! Thanks so much! I am hoping not to have another flea issue but if we do I will be giving this a try. The only thing worse than fleas is lice!! EWWW!!!

  2. I can’t wait to try this one on my dog. I wonder if it would work on cats?

  3. Wow, I never would have guessed!

  4. Well, that’s quite a bit cheaper than the Frontline stuff. Thanks!

  5. Thank you for this awesome tip!!!!
    I do not like the cemical kinds as my kids, grandkids and myself love to hug and pet our dog.
    This is what I am going to use from now on!! 🙂

  6. VERY cool idea…..I hate using chemical on my dog….and I love the smell of lemons. SO BONUS!

    great blog, btw……;)

  7. seriously?! that is awesome, and will help the way they smell too!! does it work for ticks? we live in the woods and fight them more than fleas I think!

  8. LOVE LOVE LOVE it!! No toxins—super cheap—and smells GREAT! Thanks!

  9. I bet it will give my pup a nice scent too! Thanks for the idea!

  10. awesome, I’m gonna try this!!!

  11. I have also heard that putting some tea tree oil in the dog shmpoo will keep them away also. But them you have to wash your dog. 🙂 I wonder if you could add it to the lemon?

  12. Wow. I had no idea! I have two dogs and I could really use this tip! Thank you!

  13. I haven’t tried this before. I’ll have to if I see a flea.

    We battled them about a month ago. My poor three year old was the only one getting bit…but just everywhere! I began adding apple cider vinegar to the cats wet food: 1 tsp per can. That causes them to be an uninviting host, and they didn’t seem to mind the new flavor.

    Then I sprinkled borax on the carpet, brushed it in with the broom and kept the kids out for an hour or two. A thorough vacuuming later, no fleas! Repeat the next week after any eggs hatch, and we haven’t see one since. Some people use a salt and borax mix on the carpet, to dry the flea eggs and prevent any hatching, but I though the salt might damage my metal vaccuum, so I refrained and repeated. 🙂

  14. thejoythejourneythejob

    That is so good to know!!! Our dogs do not get very many fleas, but I love knowing this for when/if they do!! Thank you!

    God Bless,
    Brandi

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

