Things I Love Thursday

 

     Wanna guess what my TILT is this week?  I will give you a few hints.

They have fluffy butts.

I can sit and watch them for hours.

They really sing their own praises when they do something they think is awesome.  (Confused yet?)

They eat a lot of bugs.  (No, not the kids)

They taste good!

 

     Give up?  Here they are:

     The pictures are from last summer.  Aren’t they cute?!

    We love having chickens.   They really do have the fluffiest butts.  My Buff Orpingtons glisten like gold in the sun.  They are my favorite breed of chicken.  Very dual purpose.   They lay large brown eggs that they absolutely celebrate over laying.  Lots of squaking and strutting.  Works for me, the eggs are delicious.  🙂  The kids get such a kick out of gathering the eggs.  

     Our chickens also get to be large enough to eat.   That is why they are dual purpose.  There is no chicken that tastes as good as a homegrown one.   

     They are fascinating to watch.  Ask anyone with chickens.  They will tell you that you can literally sit for hours watching chickens scratch, fluff, dust, eat, preen and strut around. 

     We also use our chickens to compost.  All of our kitchen scraps, tons of leaves, grass clippings, straw and such all go in the chicken run.  As the chickens scratch through it eating, they break everything up helping it to compost quickly.  They are also adding very nutrient rich chicken poop to the mix.  Every few weeks you rake that up, add it to the gardens and have them start over again.  It makes for the biggest plants, flowers, fruits and vegetables.  I don’t have to turn any compost.  That is very nice!

     It is also getting to be one of our favorite times of year with chickens.  Hatching time!  We will start gathering eggs over the next week and get them in the incubator.  Here is what we had going last year. 

     Around our homestead we love our chickens! 

     Got a TILT you want to share?  Pop over to The Diaper Diaries and join in or check out more TILT’s.

Leaning on God,

~Rhen

 

6 responses to “Things I Love Thursday

  1. they are really cute!

  2. I think if we ever break down and get animals chickens will be our first choice. We do have to wait until we have enough room for them and are not in a rental though 🙂

    -Laura

  3. Hey Girl,
    Love your chicken story!!! 🙂
    I sure wish I could come and visit ya’ll!!
    Auntie 🙂

  4. I’ve been wanting chickens for a while, we just don’t have enough space. Yours are pretty cute though.

  5. So neat! I want chickens. Someday, when we buy our land and build our home, we’ll have chickens.

  6. Oh how funny!!! I love the way you wrote this. 🙂

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

