Menu Planning Monday

     Happy Monday everyone! 

     I am in need of your help.  2 nights a week the children and I do not get home until somewhere between 8:30 and 9:00 pm.  While I have been cooking crock pot meals for those evenings, it is still a very late time to eat.  By the time we get finished fixing that last pieces of dinner, eat and clean up, it is very late.  The little are grumpy by then and we are all beyond ready for bed. 

       It is such a long time (7-8 hours+) between lunch and dinner that I have to pack plenty of snacks for myself and the kids.   That got me to thinking that there has to be a better way.   Instead of just taking snackes I would like to try preparing and taking a “picnic dinner” with us to the gym.  This is where you come in.  What are some ideas that you have that would make great “picnic dinners”?  They have to be transportable, not just plain sandwiches, and the meals really need not take too long to prepare.   You can see from my menu below that we make everything homemade so microwave dinners are a no-no.  We try to have a very healthy diet.  🙂  Anyway, I sure would appreciate some ideas and suggestions from you.  Thank you!

     My menu this week:

Spaghetti and meatballs with garlic bread

Roast beef stew

Meatloaf, mashed potatoes, peas and fresh veggies.  I use ground turkey meat instead of ground beef.  

Breakfast including:  scrambled eggs from our chickens, sweet potato pancakes and turkey sausage.

Hamburgers, coleslaw, pinapple and stuffed eggs

Chicken fajitas with refried beans

Grilled herb chicken with corn, asparagus and fresh veggies.

For the blogger who asked for my BBQ Chicken Stew (I am cutting everything in half for you so this will serve 4-6 people):

     1 pound of diced chicken marinated in your favorite BBQ sauce

     2 cups of diced potatoes

     1 cup of corn

     1 cup of green beans

     1 cup of diced tomatoes

     1/2 a diced onion

     Add a dash or two of salt, pepper, garlic and a smidge of celery salt. 

     Put all of this in a pot or crock pot and cook together with half a bottle of your favorite BBQ sauce.   You can add any veggie you want.   Some like leeks, carrots, cabbage or celery. 

     If there is anything on my menu that you would like a recipe on just leave me a comment, and I will be glad to share.  

For more great menu ideas or to join in pop over to Organizing Junkie

Ya’ll have a blessed week!

Leaning on God,

~Rhen

10 responses to “Menu Planning Monday

  1. My first thoughts on portable meals: pasta salads, cold chicken on the bone, hummus/pita/veggies, “wrap” sandwiches instead of plain bread, yogurt & muffins. Hope you find some good ideas!

  2. Well, I was going to say chicken. My first thought for picnic meat when it’s not sandwiches is fried chicken or something like that!

  3. I am loving your site. I have to admit though, I think the reason you get asked if “they are all yours” is because you look like you are so rested and healthy! I figure people assume if you have more than one child you are pulling out your hair in clumps and rocking back in forth on the floor, in last weeks sweats.

    You make me want more kids!

    Love,
    Trisha

  4. I always took along for our picnic’s cold tuna noodle salad or cold chicken noodle salad.
    They are easy to make and they are filling.
    That way you have your meat, the noodles, and a veggie.
    Plus, I took things to go with it.
    Homemade bread, and some kind of a dessert.
    I also took carrot sticks, apples, oranges sliced, celery sticks.
    I would also make jello and put it in little butter dishes that I saved so each has own severing. I could go on and on. 🙂

  5. oops….. I mean serving. 🙂

  6. Your bbq chicken stew sounds delish! I wish I could help with picnic type meals…I’m ashamed to say that I depend on fast food a little too much in those situations. 😦

  7. Sandwich and soup are great take with you meals. Pack a thermos with soup and a sandwich in a bag. Mini pizza’s are good – sauce and cheese on an english muffin. Or maybe you go do mac and cheese in a small tupperware container. I think glad makes little ones.

  8. All of my suggestion have been mentioned already! But I usually take things like tuna mayo, hummous, egg mayo, etc. in tuperwares and flat bread/pitta/wraps. That way you only make a sandwich as and when you need it. Also you can bring carrot sticks/celery sticks/quatered tomatoes for dipping, and if they’re relatively uncontaminated when you get them back home, you have ready chopped veggies for your next dish!
    We usually put individual juice boxes in the freezer and then put them around our picnic to keep it cold. Then by the time we start eating, the juice has melted into slushies. If you don’t use juice boxes, you could always try filling the kids juice cups/water bottles or whatever they drink out of in the car, and freezing that?
    Anyway, good luck with it!

  9. We used to have band competions ALL day. Many of the parents started to tailgate or at least pack a lunch in coolers. I would have salads with chicken breast and bread or wraps. On colder days we had a mom who had a crockpot with an adapter and she would have soups, stews, taco meat or bbq meats. (you could probably use a large mouth thermos as well) I know that you said healthy but we would make what we called “Marching Tacos”. Open a small bag of Frito’s then add taco meat, lettuce, tomatoes, cheese and sour cream. The kids loved it they thought it was cool to eat from the bag.

  10. What about calzones or hot pockets (homemade)? You could fill them with so many things, meat, veggies, cheeses. Make a huge batch freeze them and take them out as needed. I think warmed up at home and wrapped in foil they’d stay warm quite awhile.

    -Laura

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

