WFMW- Pumpkin Seeds

     We are now at the time of year when pumpkins are taking over the world. 

     Many people choose their pumpkin, wrestle it to the ground and finish their victory by gutting it. 

LOL- what thought, eh?! 

     Don’t fret!  Those pumpkin insides are still good!  Pumpkin seeds are one of nature’s powerhouses!

How to prepare the seeds:

    ♦ Seperate as much of the pumpkin strands from the seeds as you can.  Little hands are great for this.

    ♦ Rinse the seeds off in cool water until you can no longer feel the slime on the seeds.

    ♦ Spread them on a paper towel to dry.

    ♦ Once they are dry, put them all in a bowl and add a small amount of olive oil.

    ♦ Stir the seeds to lightly coat them and spread them on a baking sheet.

    ♦ Lightly dust them with sea salt and bake them for 20 minutes at 300 degrees.

    ♦ Allow them to cool before handing them out!  Only give (or eat) small amounts at a time.  Pumpkin seeds are magnificent at cleaning out your insides!  They anti-parasitic properties, so a few extra trips to the bathroom can be expected.  

     Not only are the seeds good for your insides, but they have lots of vitamins and are a yummy treat!

     You may ask yourself, “how is this going along with the kitchen wfmw?”  Easy, you wash the seeds in the kitchen, you cook them in the kitchen, and when you are done cooking the seeds, you can store them in an absolutely adorable container for your family to enjoy!  🙂  Haha!

For more great WFMW tips visit Rocks in My Dryer.  🙂

God bless,

~Rhen

8 responses to “WFMW- Pumpkin Seeds

  1. I also LOVE pumpkin seeds! Yum!

  2. Okay, the picture kinda grossed me (Great idea!) out but my hubby just bought 2 pumpkins and needed to know about the seeds. That is a superb idea!

  3. I haven’t had pumpkin seeds since I was a child. What a great memory you’ve created for your family.

  4. Pingback: - October 1 « may i ask you a question?

  5. Ok, do you shell your seeds before eating them? I bought some salted and roasted…..I was crunching away when a friend told me that you have to crack them open like sunflower seeds……I had never done that…..have you?

    Well, they were awkward….but good once I cracked them. I love the picture of the PUKING PUMPKIN…..too funny.

  6. We need to do this. I love eating pumpkin seeds.

    That carved pumpkin is the funniest ever! We don’t do jack-o-lanterns or anything connected to Halloween, but that is just fun.ny.

    Gotta bake some seeds this fall.

    Hey, I liked you post best out of all the WFMW because I’m not into organizing my kitchen currently. So, thanks!

    Edited by Rhen~ We don’t do Halloween either. I am right there with ya girl!

  7. Hey Rhen! Love those pumpkins! Our pumpkin patch was completely destroyed by squash beetles. We didn’t realize it until it was too late (they were hiding in the roots doing their dirty work!). That’s okay. We’re going to give em heck next year! I wonder if the seeds are still okay. I might break one open and find out. Thanks for the motivation!

    Happy fall!

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

