WFMW- Quickie pancakes

     Happy WFMW everyone! 

     Ya know, every time I write a WFMW post I worry that I am passing on a nugget of information that I was the last to receive.  Make sense?  LOL  Hopefully this will help someone out there.  🙂

     When I make pancakes, I really make pancakes.   I make a giant batch of pancake batter and start cooking.  Sometimes I will add blueberries or sliced up strawberries.  The first pancakes are for my family to eat, but while the griddle is still hot I just keep cooking until all of the batter is gone.  Then I freeze the pancakes.  They make for a quick, but healthy meal on mornings short of time.  Because they are not premade and bought at the store ready to reheat I save money and I know my family is getting very yummy, whole grain pancakes. 

Here is the pancake recipe I use:

1 cup of flour- it can be whole grain, wheat, whatever you want

1 cup of milk

1 tsp baking powder

2 tbls sugar

1 egg

Add fruit or nuts if wanted.

Makes for a family of four. (I mulitply this times 5 or more)

We don’t use white sugar.  I have used raw cane sugar, organic sugar, honey and such and they turn out fab every time.  You can get as healthy as you want with this recipe!

     That is my WFMW tip for this week.  For more great WFMW’s visit Rocks in My Dryer

God bless,

~Rhen

4 responses to “WFMW- Quickie pancakes

  1. I do this with french toast. I just keep dipping bread until the egg runs out and then freeze it and pop in the toaster when I want it, but I’ll be trying pancakes next.

    Thanks for this.

  2. I love to make big batches and freeze extras. Perfect for those rushed school day mornings to still get in a good breakfast. Looking forward to trying out your recipe! Blessings, Whitney

  3. Our family tradition is “pancake Saturdays.” I like to make from scratch too – I’ll have to try this recipe.

  4. I started doing this a few months ago with Pancakes and french toast….isn’t it great! : )
    I wish someone had told me about it sooner. Talk about saving money. 6 slices of frozen french toast is almost $3. I can make 18 slices for less than $1.75.
    I love the added bonus of knowing exactly what I am putting in compared to the artificial ingredients companies use.

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

