The “but I don’t want to get up!” factor

     After a long day of chasing hordes of children playfully running with our angelic children, getting dinner going, getting the kids to clean up their messes, going through homeschooling supplies and decluttering, I am ready to sit down.  Sit down and stretch out my legs.   Ahhhhhhhhhhhh.

     This would be the moment that 3 year old Ms. Independent decides to test my patience and her boundaries. 

     Ms. Independent, you are supposed to be sitting on your bed until Mommy tells you to get up.

     At this point she ha been on her bed a whopping 20 seconds.  Ooooh, I am such a tough mom!

     Her reaction?  She throws back her head, opens her mouth wide enough to fit a semi through and wails.   My ears are almost to the point of bleeding, yet I really don’t want to get up!  She watches me carefully, while whining and slobbering, to see if I will actually make her go back and sit on her bed.  After all, you do the crime, you do the time. 

     This is the moment.  Will I close my eyes and try to ignore her?  (Like that could ever happen!)  Will I force myself up and make her do what she is supposed to be doing?

     It took a moment, but I did get up. 

     My reward?  The second she realized I was getting up her eyes got to the size of saucers and she took off like lightening to her room.  Hahahahahahahaha!  When I get there she looks at me and says, “I on my bed momma.  See?  I’m a good girl.  See?”  Sure, kid.  Whatever.

     It is a good thing she is so darned cute!

7 responses to “The “but I don’t want to get up!” factor

  1. Kids..you gotta love them:)

  2. My wonderful husband is gone from about 8am till midnight daily throught the summer, so this moment happens soooo often right now. When he is here it’s often more, “Do I have to get up… or will he take care of it.” Ü When it’s ‘all me’, the getting up takes a bit longer. Ü
    Your family sounds great. I’m looking forward to reading your blog more.
    In Him,
    GfG

  3. My 21 month old is just getting into this phase. She has had her moments in the past but it seems like just recently everything has turned into her testing her limits with me. So, about 18 more years of this, right?

  4. How funny! My kids need to come to your house! They aren’t scard of me anymore. Not fair!

  5. Hi! I came over from Rocks in my Dryer. I, too have six children. Five girls and one boy! So much in common. Life can be so challenging with a young one in the house. Hang in there. Before you know it, she’ll be bigger and beyond this point in her little life. 🙂

    Nice to meet you!

  6. Gee, that sounds sooooo familiar!. Oh, except the part where the child realizes you mean business. My two kiddos lost that reaction awhile back – so my hat is off to you for keeping them aware you may be tired, but you still mean it! I have had to change tactics in order to get it back!

  7. What is it about the magic of actually getting up that propels greater obedience–and then why is it so hard for me to do?!?

    Darling kiddo!–she and my 6 of 8 seems to traffic in the same skills!

    Thanks for your well wishes over at my place–we do (please oh please) seem to be on the mend–

    Blessings!

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

