WFMW

My WFMW tip is brand new to me and working so wonderfully that I really wanted to share it.

     After grocery shopping, I come home, put away the groceries and get dinner started.  All of the meat, with the exception of what I am cooking that night, is put in the freezer. 

     When it is time for me to make meatloaf, hamburgers, or whatever we are having for dinner, I have to wait for the meat to thaw.  I don’t like nuking the meat and warm water takes a long time as well so I was looking for a better answer.

      A friend from church suggested that when I get home from grocery shopping I should premake my hamburger patties with the spices and everything and then freeze them.  I can also do it with meatloaf.  I can add all of the ingredients and then freeze it.  I can brown up the correct amount of meat for the next two weeks and bag up the proper amounts and freeze that as well. 

     This has made dinners so much easier.  I don’t have to wait for anything to thaw so I can mix all the ingredients together, and then cook them.  I can just grab the bag and sit it on the counter to thaw.  Even if the meat is not completely thawed (or thawed at all) I can still put it in the oven or on the grill.  The food tastes delicious and my time is better spent!  Woo Hoo!

Viola!

More WFMW’s at Rocks in My Dryer!!

Hope this tips gives a little help to someone out there in bloggyland.

If you have any additional tips- let me have it!

7 responses to “WFMW

  1. I had not considered freezing my meatloaf. Good tip. I do separate my ground beef and make it into patties to freeze. It makes cooking so much more convenient when you know how much you need to grab and go!

  2. Thanks for the tip! I am so using this one next time 🙂

  3. What a clever friend you have!! I am so going to try this!

  4. Great idea! Tell your friend thanks a bunch!

  5. That is a good idea! I usually get lazy by the time I get home from the grocery store though haha–either that or I’m too hungry to worry about anything else but what to eat now!

  6. I have done this before, but haven’t done it in quite a long time. I think it’s about time for me to give it a try again! Thanks for reminding me about it!

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

