Thursday Thirteen #19- In History

My Thursday Thirteen post this week is about 13 things that happened on this day (April 24th) in history. 

13.  In 1184 BC the Greeks entered Troy via the Trojan Horse.

12.  In 1704 the first regular paper in the US is published.  It was the Boston Massachutes New-Letter.

11.  In 1967 Cosmonaut Vladimir Komarov is the first person to die during a space mission.  The parachute failed to open.

10.  In 1620 John Graunt, found of the science of demography, is born.

9.  In 1942 American singer and actress, Barbara Steisand, is born.

8.  In 1731, English writer Daniel Defoe died.

7.  in 1990, the Hubble Telescope left Earth for space.

6.  In 1898, Spain declared war on the United States after rejecting America’s ultimatum to withdraw from Cuba.

5.  In 1800 the Library of Congress is founded by President John Adams.  The amount given to start the library was $5000.

4.  In 1907, Milton Hershey (founder of Hersheys) opened Hersheypark for the exclusive use of his employees.

3.  In 1962, MIT sent a TV signal by satellite for the first time.

2.  In 1833, a patent was granted for the first soda fountain.

and -drum roll please-

1.  In 1976, I was born.  I was born during a snow storm in Germany. 

Want to read more TT’s or join in?  Head over to Thursday Thirteen!

13 responses to “Thursday Thirteen #19- In History

  1. Germany? I’d love to hear the story!

  2. Oh, yeah, and HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!

  3. I almost did the same type of post in honor of my sister’s birthday – which is also today. But, she’s many years older than you are. Happy Birthday!

    P.S. I also have another sister who was born in Germany, too.

  4. wow…lots of history in here 😀 interest…

    Will you visit mine Thanks

  5. Wow! We’re only about a month apart. :^) Happy Birthday!

  6. Interesting list. Another TTer wrote about the Library of Congress this week. Thanks. Happy TT.

  7. Thanks for the lesson and Happy Happy Birthday!!!

    I thought Babs was older than that for some reason…

    Hope you have a great day!

  8. My husband was born today too, in 1968.
    Happy birthday and what a great TT. Mine is also up.

  9. Happy Birthday!! You’re just a young wee thing! :o)

  10. Happy birthday! It was also my 12 year old’s birthday! Hope you had a great day!

  11. Happy Birfday!!! My hubbie’s birfday was on Saturday!!!

  12. Oh my goodness..I didn’t read this post entirely..I missed your birthday..ugh!

    I left a birthday post just for you on my blog this morning:) And cake!

    Birthday hugs from Tennessee..

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

