Tackle it Tuesday- March’s Organizing Task.

     I am loving being a part of Organizing Junkie’s Monthly Roundup.  The month of March was designated Dining Room Month.  Here is what I worked on: 

     How many people actually use their dining room and dining room table for eating meals only?  If you are a homeschooler, like me, then is much more than a dining room.  It is also a classroom, a science lab, an art center- you get the picture.  Let’s not forget a place to pay bills, sort mail, play games, put together puzzles, cut patterns, sew, eat and much, much more. 

     Since my dining room plays so many parts it also had the most junk piles of all of the rooms in our house.  I had to clear a little area at my end of the table to fit my plate for meals.

See the mess here?  

And here?

     I had no idea how I was going to organize all of this stuff until I walking around Target and saw the answer.  Here is the shelf I bought:

Here is what it looks like now:

     The shelf holds my teacher books that I am using now, some of their books, future projects, papers I am grading, studies I am putting together for them and such.  The bulk of my homeschooling curriculum is stored in a 4 drawer filing cabinet but I needed something that would keep what I am using now in arms reach.  This is much easier.  I am able to reach over and easily put away each child’s items.  They each have their own basket that holds their books, folders, notebooks and papers.  Those are stored on their own shelf along with neatly organized tubs of schooling supplies.  Now we all have somewhere to keep everything organized.

.

      It has made a big difference in my stress level as well as the ease of being able to clean the table and the dining room.  Hallelulia!! 

.

     What is your tackle?  Are you joining in the Monthly Round Up at Organizing Junkie’s?  Pretty please leave  me a link to your tackle/ monthly organizing post in your comment so I can come visit. 

Have a blessed week, 

~Rhen

I am having a contest and the prize is an awesome book.  To find out more click here!

19 responses to “Tackle it Tuesday- March’s Organizing Task.

  1. that’s a lovely shelf – looks dependable! 🙂

  2. Wow, what a difference that made!!!

  3. We used those same shelves in the playroom with great success – you can even get colorful cloth boxes that fit perfectly in each cube. They’re great for smaller items that fall through the openings.

    Great job on organizing your homeschooling materials. I need to get in and do that too one of these days!

  4. Wow looks great! I love Target – you find all the good stuff there. 🙂

  5. Good for you! You’ve done a great job!!

    Caroline
    Come visit >
    SmartyPantsMama.blogspot.com

  6. Stop by anytime. I’ll get you a glass of iced tea & you can put your feet up. You’ve been busy!

    Confession of an Apron Queen: http://anapronaday.blogspot.com

  7. That looks great and you can see your pretty floor.

  8. I love the neat, organized area! We bought some of these to use as cubbies for each child.

    Leah

  9. Hi! Don’t you feel so much better when you have a place for everything and everything in it place. I like the red shelves.

    I did start Spring cleaning today. I managed to do the main bathroom and the frig part of our refrigerator. (Sorry if I spelled it wrong, not my strong suit. Need dictionary. In other room. LOL.)

    Thank you for your blessings and I pray for the same for you and your family. Good luck with your Spring cleaning.

    Tafy Sills from Blackberry Lane Farm

  10. That is just awesome! Now all those papers and books have a home (and one that is accessible!) and your table can be free for meals. Very cool!

  11. Pingback: Homeschooling

  12. I like the red color, it really brightens up that wall! It seems to have a lot of different uses as well.

  13. Good job! I’m tackling the remodeling of our house at the moment, so I did a lot of reorganizing when we moved from the house into the trailer in which we now live.

  14. Great job, and great before/after pics!

  15. Looks wonderful! Keeping everything where you actually use it is so important to staying organized!

  16. Thanks for popping by my blog and for your comment!

    You did a great job too!! Good for you! 🙂

  17. Neat shelf! And I love the fact that it’s red. 🙂

    Good work tackling all the clutter!

  18. Pingback: Tackle it Tuesday- the master bedroom « Yes, They Are All Mine

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

