Meandering and Menu Monday

monday meandering

 Hello all and welcome to the latest editions of Meandering and Menu Monday.  Don’t forget to leave a comment so I can come visit you!

Our Family’s  Time with God

  ♥I have just started reading A Woman After God’s Own Heart by Elizabeth George.  It is an excellent book.  I also have the study book to go with it and so far I am loving it!

  ♥Continue with prayer journal.  If you are in need of prayer you are more than welcome to leave a comment or email me.

  ♥Sacred Marraige bible study with Mr. Muscles. 

  ♥Continue daily devotions with the kids (these lead to such intense and fantastic discussions!)

  ♥Ms. Serious, Short Man and Ms. Firecracker are really enjoying their bible study workbook- GIG

  ♥For Ms. Lovebug (5) is loving her new coloring book .  We use it for her bible lessons.  It is working beautifully!!

My Must Do List (this list is beyond my normal cleaning, laundry, homeschooling and such)

  ♥Put in 4 more posts for the pasture fence.  I bought 4 more bags of concrete so that is the number of posts I get to do.

  ♥Transplant 2 blueberry bushes and 9 blackberry bushes

  ♥Finish attaching the fencing around the big veggie garden.  We are almost done!

  ♥Get the tubs that are packed with seasonal items out of the house and into the shed.

  ♥Reorganize two of my homeschooling supplies shelves.  They have gotten messy over the past couple months.

  ♥Get a couple more grading (digging) estimates

  ♥Dr. appt for Ms. Suesue.  This is her 1 year check up.  She turned 1 one Saturday.

Cleaning Zone 

♥My zone this week is the dining room.  I am participating in Organizing Junkie’s Organizing Round Up and March is dining room month.  Our dining room is also our homeschooling room which means all of the teacher’s books, papers, books, and such that I need are usually in piles on the floor or covering my end of the table.  I now have a plan in place to organize and clean up this area!  Woo Hoo!!  🙂

Homeschooling This Week (in addition to our normal schedule)

  ♥Pen Pal letters to write for Ms. Serious (10), Short Man (9), Ms. Firecracker (7) and Ms. Lovebug (5)

  ♥Things are really starting to bud our here so we will be heading outside to look at and document (the older 3 will do this) what we see.  We will also be taking our sketch pads out with us and choosing something to draw.  They are getting really good at this. 

  ♥This week I am going to spend some more time planning our spring field trips.  I will talk with the kids and see what their suggestions are, see what the other homeschoolers are up to and try to correlate them with the lessons we are working on.

For more Meandering Mondays head over to Tiany’s to check it all out and join in!  )

Here is our menu for the next week.  

♥Meatloaf (actually turkeyloaf but it tastes just as good!), corn and plenty of fresh, sliced veggies.

♥Chicken fajitas with refried beans.

♥Turkey helper.  This is my homemade rendition of hamburger helper but without the preservatives and such.

♥Chicken in creme sauce with Greek salad, green beans and pineapple.

♥Lemon, dill and butter tilapia.  I got this on sale and it is not from China!  Sides will be curry brown rice, corn and raw broccoli with organic ranch dressing.  I add dill to the dressing to give it a little punch.

♥BBQ Chicken with corn, great northern beans and black eyed peas.

♥Mr. Muscles treats us to dinner out on Saturday night.  My favorite night of the week!!  )

All recipes are homemade with fresh ingredients and I am more than happy to share my recipes.  If you have any recipes for the above dinners please share them in a comment.  I am always looking for new ways to prepare our favorites! )

For those who asked for the sourdough pizza crust recipe:

Ingredients:
1 1/2 c Sourdough starter
1 T olive oil
1 t Salt
1 1/2 c Flour

Preheat oven to 450F. (Some people prefer hotter. Try 550F if your oven will take you there.)

Mix ingredients, working in the flour until you have a soft dough. If the dough gets too dry, add some more starter. If you’ve used all the starter, add a bit of water.

Once you’ve kneaded the dough, cover it and let rest for 1/2 hour. This lets the dough relax, so forming the pizza is easier. This recipe does not require the rising capabilities of sourdough, it just uses the taste of the starter.

Once the dough has rested, roll out into a flat round pie-like shape. I prefer to roll the dough on baker’s parchment, turning the dough 1/8 turn between rolls and only rolling the dough away from me. This makes it easier to make something similar to a circle. How large a circle? It depends on your taste and how many people you have to feed. However, if you get much past a 12 inch diameter, you’ll have trouble finding freezer bags large enough to hold the pre-baked shells.

Once you have a nice round pie shell, you may pre-bake it or top it and bake it. To pre-bake it, slide the parchment and pie onto a baker’s peel, and then into the oven. It will work better if you use quarry tiles or baking stones. Bake about 5 minutes. It doesn’t take long, so watch carefully.

Once the shell is pre-baked, you may cool it and then freeze it, or top it and finish baking it.

For many more yummy dinner ideas and recipes head over to Organizing Junkie.

Leave me a comment with a link to your MM so I can come visit.  Don’t do Meandering Monday or Menu Monday?  Come on and join in!

All for His glory,

~Rhen

6 responses to “Meandering and Menu Monday

  1. It sounds like a full week. I wish spring were starting here (MI), hopefully it won’t be much farther off.

  2. wearethatfamily

    Your to do list makes me crave a NAP. I threw mine away and went with the nap thing! Thanks.

  3. Wow! You have a busy week ahead of you! The meals sound great. Hope you accomplish all you hope to this week.

  4. I pray that you are able to get all accomplished this week. Blessing.
    Kysha

  5. I would love the recipe for your turkey helper!

  6. Hi- I would love your turkey helper recipe!

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

