WFMW- Floss- not just for teeth!

 

My WFMW tip is one that I use for cakes. 

     When I am making cakes for someone I have to trim off the extra muffin top that rises above the rim of my pan. 

There are contraptions you can buy or really long knives but the easiest and cheapest is non-flavored dental floss. 

Just take out enough to go across the width of the pan and wrap around your index fingers. 

Now put the floss on the side where the cake needs to be trimmed and pull towards you. 

It slices through very easily and leaves a nice, smooth surface. 

That is my tip for today.  Have one?  Need one?  Head over to Rocks in My Dryer!

I just have to add a link to the coolest WFMW tip!!!  She so deserves the MacGyver award!!!!  Click to read her awesomeness.  She has even included pictures!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Wanna win a free book?

7 responses to “WFMW- Floss- not just for teeth!

  1. I want to bake a cake just to try this:)

    Thanks!

  2. That was a fantastic tip!

  3. Great idea! I have one of those ‘knifey’ things and I find it very awkward. This sounds much, much easier!

  4. I clicked the link and all I can say is…Holy Cow!

    Edited by Rhen~ I know!!

  5. Thanks for the tip! I have heard of doing this for slicing a cake, but hadn’t thought of it for flattening the top.

    Great idea!

  6. Great idea! I will definitely try this one!

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

