WFMW- Itching

 

     I love WFMW tips.  I spend way to long on my computer clicking tons of links to visit other bloggers and checking out their WFMW tip.  Anyone else have this problem?  LOL  🙂

     Here is my tip for this week.  Going along with my MM Monday and my Tackle it Tuesday posts, I am sticking with ideas for spring and warmer weather. 

     As the weather finally warms up we are all getting outside more and more.  That puts us in the path of mosquitos, poison ivy, sunburns and many other irritants that will give us rashes and/ or make us itch.  Would you like a way to dry up poison ivy and poison oak?  How about a way to take the sting and itch out of ant, mosquito, chigger and such bites?  Maybe something to help ease a suburn? 

     I will tell you exactly what you can do.  Make your own bathsalts.  That’s it?  That’s it!!  All those things?  All those things and more!  What do you have to lose except itching, burning, stinging, spreading, redness, swelling and nasty on your skin?  This also works great for children so there are no creams to try and get on them and no medicines to get in their eyes. 

     Here is the very simple recipe:

Epsom Salt

Dead Sea Salt (optional but beyond wonderful!!)

Sea Salt

Essential Oil (for smell)

     To make your bath salts simply combine equal parts of the salts you choose.  Always use Epsom Salt.  You can use the combination of all three salts for the best results or you can use the Epsom Salt and Sea Salt (both are available at every grocery store). 

     Combine your salts in a container that has a lid and mix them well. 

     Next you put in 7-10 drops of your selected essential oil (I love eucalyptus, lavender or clove) for approximately 1-2 cups of bath salt mixture.  If you make a larger batch just add about 3-4 drops for each cup. 

     Put the lid on your container and shake vigorously to spread the oil throughout the bath salts.  Shaking the mixture once every other day for the first week will help to blend the mixture well. 

     It can be used immeadiately or stored until needed.  This also makes a great gift.  Just make sure you know the person’s favorite scents!

     That is my WFMW tip this week.  Do you have one?  Head over to Rocks in My Dryer and join in or read lots of great ideas.  Please be sweet and leave me a comment so I can come and visit you!

4 responses to “WFMW- Itching

  1. Great idea, I love my bath and already know the benifits of Bath Salts…..Thanks for sharing this.

    You have been tagged for the “What’s On Your Refrigerator?” meme. It is a Meme and a contest! I’ll be giving away two free books. Read all about it at http://heartofwisdom.com/heartathome

  2. I use epson salt a lot when my muscles are sore (Walgreens even has a Lavender scented epson salt- it’s great!). I like your recipe. I’m going to give it a try.

  3. My mom made those for Christmas this year and she said people loved them. Great tip.

    I would love to pick your brain on my seed starting. You seem like you are a pro and that is what I need. . .some professional advice.

  4. Oooh, I bet those are nice!
    Hey, want to know how I go through the WFMW posts without guilt? A) I only read posts that interest me and B)every 25 or so posts, I get up and actually DO something constructive…like clean up a counter in the kitchen. Honestly, by the end of the day, it all gets done.
    Besides, much as I’d like to sit through all the posts, if I did that I would probably be unable to get up, LOL!

    Edited by Rhen ~LOL, if you find the answer to guiltfree WFMW browsing please tell me!! I try to visit as many as I can in an allotted amount of time. I also try to reply to sites I visit so that takes a little more time. I don’t like to visit someone and not say a little hello!

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

