WFMW- Removing Candle Wax

 

Do you have a problem with candle wax on your carpet or furniture?  Several years ago I learned a wonderful trick for removing the wax.

First, scrap off as much of the wax as you can.

Second, take an old washcloth or hand towel and lay it over the wax. 

Next, put a hot iron on the washcloth or handtowel.  The heat will transfer the oil and wax to the cloth.  You can either wash the cloth or toss it. 

For more great WFMW tips head over to Rocks in My DryerHere is a WFMW tip I think is a great one to pass on.

Don’t forget to enter in my Christmas Giveaway!!

6 responses to “WFMW- Removing Candle Wax

  1. I have done this too. It works great.

  2. Oh my gosh. Am I glad I found this tip. Someone got wax on my beautiful table cloth on Thanksgiving. It’s an ivory table cloth with brown (autumn leaf candle) wax.

  3. You can also use paper towels or brown paper bags.
    I have done this many, many times and learned a little extra tip. Some synthetic carpets have a very low melting temp. be sure to start on the lowest setting and work your way up. also if you do have a low melting temperature synthetic carpet, consider what would happen to little hands and knees while crawling to safety during a house fire.

    Mrs N

  4. That’s what I do too, with toiletpaper or absorbing kitchenpaper.

    Feel welcome to visit my site

    Laane on the World

    Have a great day!

  5. What a great idea! Does it work on old spills also? About a year ago, I spilled a red candle on my green rug. I could not find anything to get the last bit up. I will have to try this. Thanks for sharing!

  6. Great tip. I have used it and it is amazing. You do have to be careful not to overdue the heat though.

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

